Birchwood Homes

1066 Turnagin Loop, Fairbanks, AK 99701
Resident of this community?
Tell us what you think!

Resident of this community?

Tell us what you think!

ApartmentRatings Property Breakdown

OVERALL SCORE
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Neighborhood
Grounds
Office Staff
29%RECOMMENDED
THIS PROPERTY
VS
40%CITY AVERAGE

Ratings & Reviews

Filter
  • 5 out of 5
  • 4 out of 5
  • 3 out of 5
  • 2 out of 5
  • 1 out of 5
No reviews match your search.
OVERALL SCORE
See Score Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
Birchwood Homes Manager

How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Score Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Neighborhood
Grounds
Office Staff
Resident 2019 Not Recommended
Reviewed 08/14/2019
Well.... I'm a newer resident here. First off wasn't impressed with the fact that they preach how strict they are about their housing but yet moving in we immediately ran into all sorts of issues (things falling apart, dirty places, stains, etc.) Things that stated in… See More
How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Score Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Neighborhood
Grounds
Office Staff
Scott_M338 • Resident 2019 Recommended
Reviewed 02/15/2019
The Staff went above my expectations of getting me settled from an out of state move. Nicole was so helpful having everything ready when I arrived and the photos she sent of the unit was a very nice touch. A very nice neighborhood and comfortable place… See More
How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Score Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Neighborhood
Grounds
Office Staff
Resident 2018 Not Recommended
Reviewed 12/29/2018
Birchwood homes is the only apartment I saw so far that uses black light to check every single drop of urine on the carpet, if you have pets or baby that haven't been perfectly potty trained, and accidentally left some urine on the carpet, it won't… See More
How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Score Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Neighborhood
Grounds
Office Staff
Resident 2016 - 2018 Not Recommended
Reviewed 10/30/2018
Total scam. If you don't bring in your trash the second the garbage man comes, they complain. If you have a snow shovel on your porch in early March, they complain. Even though the neighbors yards are hogged up with junk. Birchwood is by far the… See More
How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Score Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Neighborhood
Grounds
Office Staff
Resident 2012 - 2013 Not Recommended
Reviewed 09/13/2016
if I could give them No stars I would. For starters, they didn't even give us a walk through of the apartment we were to be Renting. Makes sense, to have someone sign a lease on a place with creaky floors, "heated garages" that are not… See More
How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Score Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Neighborhood
Grounds
Office Staff
anne caston • Resident 2015 Recommended
Reviewed 12/17/2015
I am quite surprised at some of the tenant reviews (negative) posted here. I lived at Birchwood for a brief time last year and always found the management responsive if I had questions or needed a maintenance person to come by. Maybe this is because new… See More
How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Score Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Neighborhood
Grounds
Office Staff
Resident 2013 - 2014 Recommended
Reviewed 10/18/2015
We lived in Birchwood for 1 year and had two dogs. We loved living in Birchwood, although it is pricey you get a lot of space and a garage. I never felt unsafe living in Birchwood. Our deposit was 2900 because of the two dogs but… See More
How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Score Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Neighborhood
Grounds
Office Staff
elliegrant • Resident 2011 Not Recommended
Reviewed 06/16/2015
Worst place I've ever lived. Over changes after move out, thousands of dollars, rude staff, horrible repair attitude. Everything in the house falls apart when you move in. I would never recommend this complex to anyone. Huge fat scam!!
How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Score Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Neighborhood
Grounds
Office Staff
Mrs.James30 • Prospective Resident Visited 2015 Recommended
Reviewed 01/26/2015
Hi everyone, My family and I would just like to share our wonderful experience with Birchwood. First whats important to me is communication, I have to say Nicole and Tim was awesome with getting back to me and making sure things ran as smoothly as can… See More
How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Score Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Construction
Grounds
Office Staff
Resident 2012 - 2013 Not Recommended
Reviewed 02/12/2014
Worst place to live. I just moved out last year and they scammed me out of my security deposit and hired a law firm who lies through both sides of their mouth. You won't find justice in the Courts either. From what I understand through the… See More
Birchwood Homes Manager02/13/2014

Dear Former Resident, We are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience. We strive to offer the most professional and friendly customer service and quality homes. Have you contacted the manager? We are eager to help resolve any situation or issue that you feel was not handled with the utmost professionalism and would like to address your concerns regarding our practices and procedures. We do not discriminate against our tenants based on rank or civilian status. We value and respect all of our residents and strive to deliver the ultimate customer service regardless of status or background. All of our homes are black lighted as standard procedure at the end of every lease and if urine is detected we do not clean the carpet but replace it due to health and safety concerns. Each resident is presented with a deficiency list at move in and given seven days to notate any concerns or issues they have with the condition of the home and Maintenance will address the issues or deficiencies. We do have written rules in place regarding the daily removal of pet feces in every resident's yard. If we are made aware of a rule violation regarding pet feces we will enforce the rule as it is a health and safety issue. We do not lease based on verbal agreements as our leases are legal written contracts signed by both the resident and landlord. If you have any further concerns we would love to hear from you, please contact us at 907-356-1616.

How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Score Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Construction
Grounds
Office Staff
Pigglet254 • Resident 2012 - 2013 Not Recommended
Reviewed 09/24/2013
Worst place to rent from in Fairbanks. Walls are extremely thin to where you hear every single thing your neighbor does. The staff is extremely rude. See More
How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Score Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Construction
Grounds
Office Staff
Resident 2012 - 2013 Not Recommended
Reviewed 05/30/2013
The Pros: -Free heat. -You can have something of a backyard, possibly even fenced. -Allow animals (but con: $1000 pet fee, which is more than we have ever paid anywhere else for the same dog to live with us). -They finally lowered our rent. When we… See More
How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Score Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Construction
Grounds
Office Staff
rickyhenderson • Resident 2012 - 2013 Not Recommended
Reviewed 02/16/2013
I am a current tennant and cant wait for my lease to run out. Im military. BAH of 2037 and rent is 2195 plus i have to pay electric which has been average of 334 or more. They are rude and dont care about tenants. Email… See More
How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Score Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Construction
Grounds
Office Staff
Resident 2011 - 2012 Not Recommended
Reviewed 01/25/2013
Do yourself a favor, DO NOT move to Birchwood Homes. They are running a scam. If you have a pet they will allow it at a hefty $1,000 deposit. They downplay the blacklight requirement at move-out when you move-in but let me tell you don't underestimate… See More
How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Score Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Construction
Grounds
Office Staff
Resident 2009 - 2010 Not Recommended
Reviewed 01/16/2013
AWFUL! We just got a call 2 and a half years after moving out saying we owe them money! Somehow even after $1800 deposit we owe them over $2000. WHAT A RIP OFF!!!
How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Score Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Construction
Grounds
Office Staff
Resident 2012 - 2013 Recommended
Reviewed 01/01/2013
My husband and I moved to Fairbanks in June of this year without ever being able to visit the area. We had a few connections up here and they pointed us to Birchwood Homes as a great place to live. We have not been disappointed. We… See More
How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Score Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Construction
Grounds
Office Staff
Armygirl88 • Resident 2010 - 2012 Not Recommended
Reviewed 11/12/2012
I would NOT recommend birchwood to anyone, In my 1st lease it said NOTHING about black light the carpet and when I re signed for the 2nd time around I notices it was on there so before signing I asked them to black light the carpet… See More
Birchwood Homes Manager11/14/2012

We appreciate your feedback and would encourage you to give us a call or email the manager here at Birchwood. We strive to work with all current and past tenants on issues in order to give the highest quality of customer service. Please contact the office so we can assist you with this matter. 907-356-1616

How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Score Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Construction
Grounds
Office Staff
Resident 2012 Not Recommended
Reviewed 10/25/2012
Stay away! Please, do yourself a favor and rent a home somewhere else!!!! Your "move-in" special rent rate WILL increase at the end of your lease. If you have pets, blacklight it BEFORE you move in, you WILL be blacklighted on your way out. Make sure… See More
How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Score Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Construction
Grounds
Office Staff
Resident 0 Not Recommended
Reviewed 06/20/2012
This is my opinion of Birchwood homes. My wife moved in here while I was deployed and we received a good deal on their 3 bedroom 2.5 bathroom apartment because it was during the middle of the winter. I've been living here now for a few… See More
Birchwood Homes Manager06/20/2012

I am sorry your experience here has not been a pleasant one. I can let you know that the price of utilites has increased in the Fairbanks Area over the last year. And I would like the opportunity to express these changes with you. Since you are still with us I would also like to go through the move in and move out process that I believe will relieve any miscommunication that you may have been given. Please let me know when a convenient time for you would be to stop by. At this time I would be happy to go over any concerns you may have. My goal as manager of Birchwood Homes is that everyone has a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us. Take care, and looking forward to speaking with you in the future.

How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Score Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Construction
Grounds
Office Staff
Resident 2012 Not Recommended
Reviewed 05/21/2012
i have only been living here for about a month and I have had birchwood people here twice complaining about me having people parked in the street. they only allow 2 visitor parking spaces and if they are taken you have to park down the street.… See More
Birchwood Homes Manager06/20/2012

I am sorry for any inconvenice you have had living here at Birchwood Homes. We appreciate the feedback and would like you to come to the office so that a solution can be reached. We provide many visitor spaces as well as enclosed recreation lots. We have 2 recreation lots with available spaces, and can accomidate your additional needs. We are here for you, and would like your stay here to be a rewarding and pleasant one. Please don't hesitate to come see us at your earliest convenience. Thank You

How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Score Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Construction
Grounds
Office Staff
Resident 2011 Not Recommended
Reviewed 08/13/2011
Please people, stay away. Your rent WILL go up after one year, AND you will be required to sign another one year lease. First place I've ever heard of that makes you sign one year leases at a time. My experience, is after one year the… See More
How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Score Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Construction
Grounds
Office Staff
Resident 2010 - 2011 Not Recommended
Reviewed 06/26/2011
I see a lot of reviews on here that say you can get better places for a lower price, but I'm not so sure about that. The plain fact is that rental housing in Fairbanks is in a very sad state - especially if you have… See More
Birchwood Homes Manager06/29/2011

Birchwood is its own community and we strive to have clean and friendly enviornment for all to enjoy. Our yard debris and pet policies are for the benefit of you and your surronding neighbors. Our rental prices here in the Fairbanks market may appear that they are higher, but please take into consideration Fairbanks's price of energy and cost of living we do include heat, water, sewer and refuse in the price of your rental. As landlords we have the interest in protecting our homes value and replacement. We as landlords charge a pet deposit. This is not an unreasonable request as the cost for replacement for many items in your home are very high i.e. carpet, vinyl, doors ect. We do accept payment plans on your pet deposit upon move in. I know that one of my wonderful leasing team members would have enjoyed going over this option with you. We do accept rental payments by direct alottment set up through your bank's bill pay system. We have many members from our community that are set up through their banks auto payment system. Please let me know if there is any further questions or concerns. I am always here to assist with any issues that may arise. We appreciate you staying here with us at Birchwood, and hope you continue your stay with us.

How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Score Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Construction
Grounds
Office Staff
tiffwaltjade • Resident 2010 - 2011 Recommended
Reviewed 05/11/2011
We moved in November of last year and the manager along with the staff has been nothing short of amazing to us. I was scared to move in at first because I saw some of the reviews but now I can tell you for myself we… See More
How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Score Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Construction
Grounds
Office Staff
Resident 2011 Not Recommended
Reviewed 05/01/2011
Black light carpet on way out. charge for nail holes, charge for snow removal, charge for poop pick up, internet does not work like they claim, and very slow on snow removal
How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Score Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Construction
Grounds
Office Staff
pittmanlt • Resident 2009 - 2011 Recommended
Reviewed 02/23/2011
I have lived here going on 3 years now and love it. I'm not really an appartment dweller but with high rent and crazy heating prices I decided to move here till we build our house later this year(2011). I have a 4 bedroom and have… See More
How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report

Features & Amenities

Laundry

  • Laundry Connections in Unit
  • Laundry On-Site

Parking

  • Private Garage
  • Uncovered Parking

General

  • Community Center

Pets

  • Dogs Allowed
    Comments: $500 refundable deposit covers up to 2 pets.
  • Cats Allowed
    Comments: $500 refundable deposit covers up to 2 pets.

Floor Plans & Pricing

3 Bedrooms, 1.5 Bathrooms

  • Price

    $2,365

  • SQ. FT.

    N/A

  • Available
    Avail.

    N/A

  • Model

    3 Bedrooms

3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms

  • Price

    $2,404

  • SQ. FT.

    N/A

  • Available
    Avail.

    N/A

  • Model

    3 Bedrooms

3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Bathrooms

  • Price

    $1,800

  • SQ. FT.

    N/A

  • Available
    Avail.

    N/A

  • Model

    3 Bedrooms

3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms

  • Price

    $2,924

  • SQ. FT.

    N/A

  • Available
    Avail.

    N/A

  • Model

    3 Bedrooms

4 Bedrooms, 2.5 Bathrooms

  • Price

    $3,262

  • SQ. FT.

    N/A

  • Available
    Avail.

    N/A

  • Model

    4 Bedrooms

4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms

  • Price

    $3,404

  • SQ. FT.

    N/A

  • Available
    Avail.

    N/A

  • Model

    4 Bedrooms

Disclaimer: Floor Plans data have been collected from Internet users and may not be a reliable indicator of current or comprehensive floor plans offered.

Leasing

Our homes have many exciting features too many to count! There is a pantry closet in the kitchen and a laundry with storage room next to the kitchen as well as a 1/2 bath in the downstairs hall. All the bedrooms have 2 opening windows. The Master bedroom has a large by-pass door closet. There is a one car heated garage with storage space as well as a second driveway for parking a second vehicle. There are covered front and back porches with cedar decks. There are venting fans in the laundry room, kitchen and all 3 baths. There is a linen closet, the second full bath as well as a walk-in closets. All of our Birchwood homes are super insulated with 1 foot thick double walls, triple pane windows, insulated metal front and back doors with insulated storm doors, heated entries and radiant baseboard heat throughout. Our homes are all within walking distance of the Jr. High and elementary schools. Please view our website at

Questions & Answers (2)

Your question has been submitted!

Please allow up to 24 hours for your answer to be visible to the public.

·
Type your answer:
Please allow up to 24 hours for your answer to be visible to the public.

Do you have a free wifi ?

Sha-Sha Barcenas · November, 04 2018 · 1 answer
Please allow up to 24 hours for your answer to be visible to the public.
· Just Now
Hi there, Our residents select their own service-most residents use GCI, give Howard a call and see what their current specials are to get a better idea on cable/internet rates. His contact number is . We include heat, sewer, water and trash collection and an on-site maintenance staff. If you have any further questions please do not hesitate to contact me. Warm Regards, Nicki Robarge Leasing Manager
Manager Response · November, 05 2018

Do they have washer and dryer included?

Anonymous · August, 10 2018 · 1 answer
Please allow up to 24 hours for your answer to be visible to the public.
· Just Now
Good question, Birchwood offers laundry rental for $100 per month with a three month minimum. When you apply let the leasing staff know if you are interested in a laundry rental. If you have any questions at all feel free to e-mail me. My name is Nicki, I am the leasing manager here at Birchwood Homes,
Manager Response · August, 10 2018

Similar Properties

Placeholder for Henrys Apartments

Henrys Apartments

Fairbanks, AK

Birchwood Homes is an apartment in Fairbanks in zip code 99701. This community has a 3 - 4 bedroom, 1.5 - 3 bathroom, and is for rent for $1,800 - $3,404. Nearby cities include Fort Wainwright, and North Pole. 99703, 99709, 70501, and 99705 are nearby zip codes.

  • Price

  • Sq. Ft.

  • Availability

  • Model

Birchwood Homes

Provided by Property Management

Management Photos (0)

    Provided by Other Residents

    Resident Photos (0)

        Back To Top