Chestnut Place Apartments

What is epIQ?

Chestnut Place Apartments

8 W Chestnut St, Chicago, IL 60610
(40 Reviews)
$2,220 - $3,415/mo
Share Feedback
Write a Review
Leave a Video ReviewNew

Floor Plans & Pricing

1 Bedroom

C

1 Bed, 1 Bath | 680 sq. ft.

$2,220 - $2,395

3 Available Units

See Floor Plan Details

E

1 Bed, 1 Bath | 707 sq. ft.

$2,315 - $2,395

3 Available Units

See Floor Plan Details

B

1 Bed, 1 Bath | 761 sq. ft.

$2,415 - $2,500

3 Available Units

See Floor Plan Details

D

1 Bed, 1 Bath | 715 sq. ft.

$2,430

1 Available Unit

See Floor Plan Details

2 Bedrooms

K

2 Beds, 1.5 Baths | 946 sq. ft.

$3,095 - $3,225

5 Available Units

See Floor Plan Details

A

2 Beds, 1.5 Baths | 914 sq. ft.

$2,970 - $3,205

4 Available Units

See Floor Plan Details

F

2 Beds, 1.5 Baths | 1,024 sq. ft.

$3,395 - $3,415

3 Available Units

See Floor Plan Details

Disclaimer: Special, prices and availabilities subject to change.

epIQ Ratings

What is epIQ?

The epIQ Index gives you an accurate and authentic understanding of what life at a community is like prior to signing a lease, using a familiar letter grade & report card format.

epIQ Report Card

In partnership with SatisFacts™

Community epIQ Grade

N/A
N/A

Renter Ratings

N/A

Review Ratings

Noise

0.0

Grounds

0.0

Safety

0.0

Office Staff

0.0

Maintenance

0.0

Neighborhood

0.0

Survey Ratings

SatisFacts™ Tour Survey

SatisFacts™ Move-In Survey

SatisFacts™ Maintenance Survey

SatisFacts™ Renewal Survey

Review Count

N/A

Number of reviews in the past 365 days

N/A

Manager’s Review Engagement

N/A

Percentage of reviews responded to

N/A

Manager’s Review Reply Time

N/A

Average time to respond to reviews

N/A

View Community Timeline
View Community Timeline

Chestnut Place Apartments Reviews

(40)
Verified
Reviews with the Verified Badge are from residents or prospects surveyed directly from SatisFacts™ at the community, ensuring reviews are from real residents or prospects!

Sort:

  • Newest Activity
  • Recently Lived In
  • Review Rating
Review Author Icon

SarahD25

Resident 2018

9/18/2018

All of the negative reviews on this building including mine have been hidden on Yelp, so we'll see how long it lasts here. Let me start by saying this entire building is under construction, so be aware if you don't like noise. I knew the… See More >
    Manager

    9/22/2018

    Chestnut Place Apartments
    We understand your frustration! We appreciate your feedback both now and throughout the time that you've been our resident. While some noise is inevitable during renovations, we are committed to minimizing disturbances for our residents. As we continue the conversations that we've started in person, we're confident we'll find a satisfactory solution together.
    Review Author Icon

    JoelAcorn

    Resident 2016 - 2018

    4/12/2018

    Moved in here and was initially happy. Building seems nice. Nice lobby and friendly staff but ends up being more headaches than its worth. I wouldn't recommend it if you're looking for a quality apt.… See More >
      Manager

      7/13/2018

      Chestnut Place Apartments
      Hello,Thank you for sharing your feedback. I would love the opportunity to discuss your review in more detail so I can better understand your concerns and experience here at Chestnut Place. You can reach me anytime at the number or email below.Sincerely,Wendy H.Property Manager312.280.8007whernandez@goco.com
      Review Author Icon

      anonymous

      Resident 2015 - 2018

      3/19/2018

      --------------- on the leasing team is by far the most unprofessional leasing agent I have ever worked with! She is extremely rude and does not care for the best interest of her tenants! She has made my experience living at Chestnut Place worse and worse… See More >
        Manager

        3/21/2018

        Chestnut Place Apartments
        I'm sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with a member of our leasing team. To understand the situation more clearly, we'd love to speak with you in person to address your concerns. Please feel free to contact me directly to set up an opportunity to speak in person at your convenience. I can be reached at mgmt@chestnutplace.com.
        Review Author Icon

        anonymous

        Resident 2012 - 2016

        1/31/2016

        After living here for a while, I am left with the feeling that residents are afterthoughts to management here. There have been a couple of times when management, with almost no notice, told residents on the floor they were going to leave all the… See More >
          Manager

          1/17/2018

          Chestnut Place Apartments
          I'm the new manager here at Chestnut Place, and I'm sorry to hear that you had a negative experience during our renovations. The renovations you describe in your review are now completed, and have greatly improved the building and resident experience. If you are interested in discussing the changes in the building or any outstanding concerns you have, please contact me at 312.280.8007 or whernandez@chestnutplace.com. -Wendy Hernandez
          Review Author Icon

          anonymous

          Resident 2014 - 2015

          6/3/2015

          WARNING - NEW AWFUL MANAGEMENT AS OF 2015! The old management was phenomenal (as you'll note in many other reviews). However this new management is lacking basic human integrity if you ask me. I'd like to live in a place where I trust my surroundings, and… See More >
            Manager

            6/10/2015

            Chestnut Place Apartments
            Nicole, we appreciate your feedback and are saddened to hear you feel you are having a negative experience at Chestnut Place. Our goal is to make the living experience at Chestnut Place a better one for our residents, so while that will include the new renovations and amenities, it can also include changes in fees in order to keep pace. I can understand how the timing of the fee change may seem unusual to you, but we made this decision within a fairly quick time frame, otherwise we definitely would have informed you in advance of your renewal. Please keep in mind that the lockout fee is only charged after business hours. While some residents would love to lock in various terms and rates in their lease, we need the flexibility to address how we manage and operate the common areas and amenities as circumstances change. For the most, part this relates to things like hours of operation, policies, safety issues, etc. Since we don't lock in terms regarding those items, we don't lock in terms regarding fees either. Having said that, we have NO plans to charge a fee for the fitness center. We are so just so eager for all the new amenities to open up we just want people to start using them!! I would be happy to discuss any other concerns you may have. You are always welcome to contact me via email kknight@goco.com or phone 312-280-8007.
            Review Author Icon

            anonymous

            Resident 2012 - 2015

            1/23/2015

            The old management of this building was great. Unfortunately, the new management at this building seems to be the exact opposite of the old management. After taking over, they immediately took away the free storage units and majorly increased parking fees. Then… See More >
              Manager

              1/26/2015

              Chestnut Place Apartments
              We are sorry to hear you are having a negative experience at Chestnut Place. The vision for Chestnut Place is to modernize the community and bring some fresh new features and amenities to such a well-established community in the Gold Coast. We have many exciting changes in development including a relaxing resident lounge, party room, pet care center, beautiful renovated apartment homes, lobby and corridors, and retail on the first floor level. I thank you for bringing to our attention the error on our website; our pricing is being offered to existing residents as well as new residents. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your concerns directly; please contact me at 312-280-8007 or email me directly at kknight@goco.com. Kim Knight-Piland Property Manager Chestnut Place Apartments
              Review Author Icon

              anonymous

              Resident 2013 - 2014

              12/10/2014

              The building has a no smoking policy, but that doesn't stop marijuana smokers from moving in and smoking in their apartments. The odors in the hall and into your apartment are very strong because there is not an adequate ventilation system. The new management has… See More >
                Review Author Icon

                anonymous

                Resident 2009 - 2015

                2/22/2016

                I've lived here for quite a few years now and never had any complaints against management, staff, or neighbours. Great location, great amenities, great sound insulation, and what was great value. Now that the building has been sold to a mammoth management company (used to… See More >
                  Review Author Icon

                  Kmdish

                  Resident 2004 - 2013

                  4/25/2014

                  I lived here with my husband pre-kids, we moved out for two years when we bought a condo . . . But then sold and moved back! We LOVED living here! We had two kids here and would have probably stayed longer if we had… See More >
                    Review Author Icon

                    lequerica

                    Resident 2011 - 2013

                    8/14/2013

                    I lived there for 2 years (2011-2013) and recommend it. The price and location are excellent. Management is terrific and it's office is open every day. The maintenance people are excellent and fix things within 1 or 2 days of letting management know. The building… See More >
                      Review Author Icon

                      imoorehe

                      Resident 2010 - 2013

                      7/10/2013

                      I absolutely loved living here. The doormen, maintenance and everyone else were so nice. They all want to know how your day is going and future plans you may have for the weekend, etc. It was very comforting to know that the… See More >
                        Review Author Icon

                        anonymous

                        Resident 2009 - 2013

                        5/12/2013

                        My husband and I lived here for 4 years and would have stayed if we hadn't moved out of State. We had a two bedroom apartment which was a good size with excellent views. All the staff are very friendly and maintenance always… See More >
                          Review Author Icon

                          sadtobemoving

                          Resident 2010 - 2013

                          5/12/2013

                          This place is amazing. My roommate and I have lived here for three years and could not have asked for anything more. The building is family-owned and the management is superb--honest, dependable, all maintenance issues addressed promptly. No cat rent/deposit. Great neighbors, amazing location near… See More >
                            Review Author Icon

                            anonymous

                            Resident 2012 - 2013

                            4/17/2013

                            Superb location!!! I stayed here for a year (2012-2013) and absolutely loved the location. Literally a 3 min walk from red line station, 10-15 min walk from the brown line station, spot on CTA bus route #36 and completely surrounded by restaurants and bars. The… See More >
                              Review Author Icon

                              cntenant

                              Resident 2005 - 2013

                              4/16/2013

                              I have lived here for over 9 years. I have lived in many apartments and this is by far the best experience I have had. The location speaks for itself: I am steps away from all the shopping, restaurants and public transportation I need to… See More >
                                Review Author Icon

                                anonymous

                                Resident 2009 - 2013

                                4/13/2013

                                I lived in Chicago for 11 years and Chestnut Place is the best apartment building in the city!! I loved living here for many years. However, I recently moved out of state and I've yet to find a community as wonderful as Chestnut. The staff… See More >
                                  Review Author Icon

                                  ChestnutPlacePerfection

                                  Resident 2012 - 2013

                                  3/24/2013

                                  I love living here. I live in a "convertible" that is really a 1 bedroom apt. It is the best location ever. Shopping, food, public transportation and anything else you could ever need is right here and the location cannot be beat.… See More >
                                    Review Author Icon

                                    sukabo

                                    Resident 2012

                                    11/7/2012

                                    My husband and I have been living here for 6 months and could not be happier with our decision to rent at Chestnut Place. The apartment was professionally cleaned before our arrival, re-painted, with new carpet and new appliances installed. A few maintenance issues were… See More >
                                      Review Author Icon

                                      scorpioboy79

                                      Resident 2011 - 2012

                                      7/29/2012

                                      I have lived here just over a year now and could not have picked a better place for my first year in Chicago. The building is a little older but is well maintained. Rent is very afforadable for the area. Being on… See More >
                                        Review Author Icon

                                        anonymous

                                        Resident 2009 - 2012

                                        6/22/2012

                                        I lived in chestnut place apartments for 2 and half years and man I cant think of any other place to be perfectly located, half block from red line , bus 36 stops right in front of the building.Shopping,grocery stores, restaurant,night life everything is within… See More >
                                          Review Author Icon

                                          unhappyinchicago

                                          Resident 2010 - 2012

                                          4/26/2012

                                          I have lived in this apartment for over 2 years now. At first, it was decent. Great location, friendly doormen, office staff OK, and relatively inexpensive compared to other places in the area. HOWEVER, the past year of living here has been… See More >
                                          Review Author Icon

                                          rburch2000

                                          Resident 2011

                                          12/24/2011

                                          I have lived in the building for 3 months. Great location. The management and staff are terrific. However Direct TV/MDU have a monopoly on cable service in the building and the service is horrible. There are constant outages that require MDU to send out a… See More >
                                            Review Author Icon

                                            anonymous

                                            Resident 2011

                                            9/24/2011

                                            I can't stop saying nice things about my apartment. The view from my apartment is great - sunset views everyday! I have a convertible and it's roomy for one person and cozy for a couple (my boyfriend visits often). The building management is really great and… See More >
                                              Review Author Icon

                                              anonymous

                                              Resident 2004 - 2009

                                              8/15/2009

                                              While the management are definitly very nice, we've been here a few years and it was great- but lately - there are more and more people renting who don't respect their neighbors or the building... - consistently noisy neighbors at all times of day/night, carpets are… See More >
                                                Review Author Icon

                                                pray79

                                                Resident 2007 - 2009

                                                8/6/2009

                                                This building is the place to live if you want to live in downtown Chicago. The rent here is actually lower than most of the buildings nearby without compromising on any amenities. The ladies in the office are very kind and very helpful. The doormen… See More >

                                                  Features & Amenities

                                                  Laundry
                                                  • Laundry On-Site
                                                  Parking
                                                  • Parking
                                                  Pets
                                                  • Cats Allowed
                                                    Pet Limit: 2
                                                    Less Info
                                                    More Info
                                                  • Animal type not listed Allowed
                                                  • Dogs Allowed
                                                    Pet Limit: 2
                                                    Less Info
                                                    More Info
                                                  Other
                                                  • 24-Hour Emergency Maintenance
                                                  • Air Conditioner
                                                  • Business Center
                                                  • Cable & Satellite
                                                  • Convenient to CTA Bus and El Lines
                                                  • Dry Cleaning Service
                                                  • Event Center
                                                  • Fitness Center
                                                  • Free Internet Access
                                                  • Gated Access
                                                  • Granite Countertops
                                                  • Grilling Stations
                                                  • High-Speed Internet
                                                  • Large Closets
                                                  • On-Site Management
                                                  • Patio
                                                  • Petcare Service
                                                  • Pets Allowed
                                                  • Plank Flooring
                                                  • Pool
                                                  • Recreation Room
                                                  • Recycling Program
                                                  • Resident Lounge
                                                  • Smoke Free Buildings
                                                  • Stainless Steel Appliances
                                                  • Storage Space
                                                  • Tiled Flooring
                                                  • Unique Design Style
                                                  • Valet Package Service
                                                  • View
                                                  • Window Coverings
                                                  Show Less
                                                  Show More

                                                  Leasing

                                                  You know you're home the moment you find your perfect fit. Chestnut Place's newly renovated convertible, one, and two bedroom apartments are the perfect fit if you're looking for upscale finishes with a comfortable feel. All our apartments offer upscale features like stainless steel appliances and granite countertops alongside the kind of features that make your apartment a home like natural light and plank flooring. Whether you're seeking entertainment or productivity, you'll find everything you need right at your doorstep. Nestled in a quiet location on the corner of State Street and Chestnut Street, Chestnut Place is a peaceful retreat in the heart of the dynamic Gold Coast. With the CTA red line and multiple bus lines easily within reach, your new home is instantly connected to the entire city.
                                                  Show Less

                                                  Office Hours

                                                  • Sunday: Closed
                                                  • Monday - Friday: 09:00 AM - 06:00 PM
                                                  • Saturday: 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
                                                  This community is managed by

                                                  Golub & Company

                                                  D
                                                  D
                                                  Communities
                                                  11

                                                  Questions & Answers (0)

                                                  Frequently Asked

                                                  Who manages Chestnut Place Apartments?
                                                  Golub & Company
                                                  What is the pet policy at Chestnut Place Apartments?
                                                  Cats Allowed
                                                  Pet Limit: 2
                                                  Animal type not listed Allowed
                                                  Dogs Allowed
                                                  Pet Limit: 2
                                                  What types of floor plans are available?
                                                  1 Bed, 1 Bath
                                                  2 Beds, 1.5 Baths

                                                  Contact Property

                                                  Chestnut Place Apartments

                                                  February 2024

                                                  Sun
                                                  Mon
                                                  Tue
                                                  Wed
                                                  Thu
                                                  Fri
                                                  Sat
                                                  1
                                                  2
                                                  3
                                                  4
                                                  5
                                                  6
                                                  7
                                                  8
                                                  9
                                                  10
                                                  11
                                                  12
                                                  13
                                                  14
                                                  15
                                                  16
                                                  17
                                                  18
                                                  19
                                                  20
                                                  21
                                                  22
                                                  23
                                                  24
                                                  25
                                                  26
                                                  27
                                                  28
                                                  29
                                                  Beds

                                                  0

                                                  Baths

                                                  0

                                                  Chestnut Place Apartments is a 680 - 1,024 sq. ft. apartment in Chicago in zip code 60610. This community has a 1 - 2 Beds, 1 - 1.5 Baths, and is for rent for $2,220 - $3,415. Nearby cities include Hines, Cicero, Oak Park, Elmwood Park, and River Forest.

                                                  Your privacy and identity are important to us. Please review the Terms and Guidelines before sharing private or non-public information with matches.