Harbor Lake Apartments
#7,638 #4 #101

What is epIQ?

Harbor Lake Apartments

1610 Sunset Ave # 102, Waukegan, IL 60087
(66 Reviews)
$900 - $1,020/mo
Share Feedback
Write a Review
Leave a Video ReviewNew

Move-In Specials

Free March Rent On Any Available Studio or 1 Bedroom Apartment!

Floor Plans & Pricing

Studio

The Minnow

Studio, 1 Bath | 445 sq. ft.

$900 - $910

3 Available Units

See Floor Plan Details

1 Bedroom

The Guppy

1 Bed, 1 Bath | 710 sq. ft.

$1,020

3 Available Units

See Floor Plan Details

2 Bedrooms

The 1st Mate

2 Beds, 2 Baths | 825 sq. ft.

See Floor Plan Details

The Pelican

2 Beds, 2 Baths | 1,040 sq. ft.

See Floor Plan Details

The Lighthouse

2 Beds, 1 Bath | 890 sq. ft.

See Floor Plan Details

The Harbor

2 Beds, 2 Baths | 965 sq. ft.

See Floor Plan Details

The Herron

2 Beds, 1 Bath | 1,030 sq. ft.

See Floor Plan Details

Disclaimer: Special, prices and availabilities subject to change.

epIQ Ratings

What is epIQ?

The epIQ Index gives you an accurate and authentic understanding of what life at a community is like prior to signing a lease, using a familiar letter grade & report card format.

epIQ Report Card

In partnership with SatisFacts™

Community epIQ Grade

B
B

Renter Ratings

A

Review Ratings

Noise

4.5

Grounds

4.0

Safety

4.0

Office Staff

5.0

Maintenance

4.5

Neighborhood

5.0

Survey Ratings

SatisFacts™ Tour Survey

SatisFacts™ Move-In Survey

SatisFacts™ Maintenance Survey

SatisFacts™ Renewal Survey

Review Count

D

Number of reviews in the past 365 days

2

Manager’s Review Engagement

A+

Percentage of reviews responded to

100.00%

Manager’s Review Reply Time

B

Average time to respond to reviews

10.5 days

View Community Timeline
View Community Timeline

Harbor Lake Apartments Reviews

(63)
Verified
Reviews with the Verified Badge are from residents or prospects surveyed directly from SatisFacts™ at the community, ensuring reviews are from real residents or prospects!

Sort:

  • Newest Activity
  • Recently Lived In
  • Review Rating
Review Author Icon

anonymous

Resident 2024

2/20/2024

The staff of Harborlake is very accommodating especially Mr. Gio. Thank you for making this happen so fast. God bless your company. I got a very nice apartment that makes me feel safe and secured. Than you!

    Manager

    3/1/2024

    Harbor Lake Apartments
    We're thrilled to hear about your positive experience at Harbor Lake! Our team takes great pride in providing exceptional service and ensuring your needs are met promptly. It's wonderful to know that you feel safe a secure in your new home. Thank you for your kind words and for choosing Harbor Lake Apartments. We appreciate your support, and may your new home continue to bring you joy and comfort.

    Updated Review

    Review Author Icon

    Nessacollins

    Resident 2019 - 2024

    2/19/2024

    We really love our apartment. It's very spacious.

    We have been living here for over 4 years now, and we are very happy ?? here. We have a very big apartment, and very nice neighbors. I only wish we had 2 bathrooms. The maintenance staff is very nice, and gets the job done,… See More >
      Manager

      3/1/2024

      Harbor Lake Apartments
      Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience living here for over four years! We're thrilled to hear that you're very happy with your spacious home and wonderful neighbors. We understand the desire for an additional bathroom, and while we can't change the current layout of your home, our community offers additional floor plan options. If there's anything else we can do to enhance your living experience, please don't hesitate to let us know. We appreciate your residency and look forward to continuing to make your time here enjoyable.

      Updated Review

      Review Author Icon

      Zecharias_S

      Resident 2021 - 2023

      2/25/2023

      Living here is definitely a blast, the staff is a blast, the most impactful people are my leasing consultants. Megan and Giovanni are really approachable, very nice, and are really able to assist me unlike my previous consultant. I recommend living here if anyone needs… See More >
        Manager

        3/1/2023

        Harbor Lake Apartments
        Wow! Thank you so much for the 5-star review, Zecharias! It made our day here at Harbor Lake Apartments. It is our goal to provide the best possible experience, and we are thrilled to learn we have done just that. Thank you for taking the time to review our community!
        Review Author Icon

        anonymous

        Resident 2022

        9/23/2022

        Rent some where else

        Been here since may, paid 1700 to get in, the place is falling apart , Tub paint pilled off, Bottom of the refrigerator doesn’t get cold, Ants, water damage in the bed room, nothing but patch work was done and it seems to be on… See More >
          Manager

          9/28/2022

          Harbor Lake Apartments
          Hello, thank you for your feedback. We always aim to deliver an extraordinary experience- we apologize that is not the case. We take our reviews very seriously. They help us continue to provide excellent service and understand areas where we can improve. We would love to discuss your concerns in more detail, but unfortunately, we do not know who you are. Please feel free to message me privately residentservicesIL@monarchinvestment.com if you care to discuss. Again, thank you for your feedback.
          Review Author Icon

          Brittbrat_D

          prospectiveVisited 2022

          8/23/2022

          Please Show Me Where “THEY DONT COINCIDE”

          DO NOT APPLY HERE!!! THEY WILL TAKE YOUR MONEY AND LIE TO YOU ABOUT WHAT YOU MAKE!!! AFTER THEY’VE SEEN PLENTY OF PROOF!! THESE PEOPLE LIED TO ME LIKE I WAS FKNG STUPID AND TRIED TO TELL ME I WAS LYING ABOUT MY PAYSTUBS AND… See More >
            Manager

            8/26/2022

            Harbor Lake Apartments
            Hello, we apologize for the inconveniences you had while applying for one of our apartments. Unfortunately, there were some inconsistencies with your employment verification. While we wish you a bright future, we cannot approve your application if you don't meet our rental criteria. Thank you for taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention.
            Review Author Icon

            anonymous

            Resident 2021 - 2022

            8/14/2022

            I wish I found these reviews before I moved here

            Do not rent here. Mice. Mice. Mice. Ants. Ants. Ants. Noise. Weed. Trash. Potholes in the parking lot are so big you can take a bath in them. Why not? Better than taking a shower and having a mouse run across your foot. Security doors… See More >
              Manager

              8/17/2022

              Harbor Lake Apartments
              Hello, thank you for letting us know about these worthy concerns. We greatly apologize for the discomfort you are experiencing in your home. Please reach out to our team directly at residentservicesIL@monarchinvestment.com, and we'd be happy to discuss additional pest control services as well as any maintenance needs. Our residents' comfort is a top priority, so we hope to hear from you soon. Thank you and best regards.
              Review Author Icon

              Amber_W889

              Resident 2022

              3/13/2022

              Don’t move here I only been here about a week and 2days I’ve been having trouble with my apartment every since the worst place I ever moved too . I REPEAT DON’T MOVE HERE and the apartment is not worth what they are ask for… See More >
                Manager

                3/16/2022

                Harbor Lake Apartments
                Dear Amber, we're sorry to hear you're experiencing some issues within your apartment. Our goal is to ensure that all our residents are responded to promptly and their concerns are addressed quickly to the best of our ability. Are you aware of the multiple ways on how to place a work order? If not, I am more than happy to go through that with you; you can email me directly at residentservicesIL@monarchinvestment.com. As soon as something breaks or introduces an issue, I'd suggest you get a work order placed. That way, the issue can get resolved as soon as possible. Thank you.
                Review Author Icon

                Simone9119

                Resident 2020 - 2022

                3/10/2022

                The staff is completely rude, every time you enter their office it’s like you’re a bother. Half the time they don’t know what you’re talking about when it comes to problems in the apartment. Maintenance takes forever to show up, they give you a set… See More >
                  Manager

                  3/12/2022

                  Harbor Lake Apartments
                  Hello, we always aim to deliver an extraordinary experience- we apologize that is not the case. Thanks for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We would like to extend our most sincere apologies if you feel that your concerns went ignored, as I can assure you that is not our intention. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to discuss this further and make things right. Please get in touch with me directly at residentservicesIL@monarchinvestment.com, and we can discuss.
                  Review Author Icon

                  anonymous

                  Resident 2020 - 2021

                  9/1/2021

                  Everything is god awful here and I made an account on this site for the sole purpose of letting everyone know how terrible this place is to live in. I have had to complain and remind the staff so many times that they have an… See More >
                    Manager

                    9/9/2021

                    Harbor Lake Apartments
                    Dear anonymous, thank you for your feedback. We always aim to deliver a great experience-we take resident reviews very seriously, as they help us continue to provide excellent service and understand areas where we can improve. We'd love to discuss your concerns in more detail, but unfortunately, we don't know who you are. Please feel free to message me privately at residentservicesIL@monarchinvestment.com so we can discuss. Again, thank you for your feedback.
                    Review Author Icon

                    anonymous

                    prospectiveVisited 2021

                    8/23/2021

                    My wife & me had applied to rent, but I want to thank the reviews, for keeping us from making a mistake , and keeping us from these bad times and occurrences . Pity and a shame, it looked so nice , ..

                      Manager

                      8/23/2021

                      Harbor Lake Apartments
                      This is so sad to hear! We hope that you were able to stop out to the propery to see for yourself why so many of our residents love living here! Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you in the future and we wish you luck in your search.
                      Review Author Icon

                      Ijay12

                      Resident 2020 - 2021

                      6/27/2021

                      Being a current resident here the service is awful. There is no real help from leasing office. They are RACIST! (( whole staff is --------)) & very inconsistent. They leave notices on the door & maintenance have authority to come into your apartment without you… See More >
                        Manager

                        6/29/2021

                        Harbor Lake Apartments
                        We are sorry that your experience in our community didn’t quite match your expectations. We would love to discuss this further with you to deliver a better experience next time. You may reach us anytime at residentservicesIL@monarchinvestment.com. Again, thank you for your feedback.
                        Review Author Icon

                        anonymous

                        Resident 2021

                        5/15/2021

                        This place lacks professionalism and honesty. Make sure you read your lease, because you be in court trying to get your money back if you don’t. Hallways are noisy and disgusting. Maintenance will go into your apartment without notice. Doors slamming all hours in the… See More >
                          Manager

                          5/17/2021

                          Harbor Lake Apartments
                          We would like to discuss any additional concerns you may still have regarding your move out. Please feel free to message me privately at residentservicesIL@monarchinvestment.com. Thank you for your feedback.
                          Review Author Icon

                          anonymous

                          Resident 2021

                          5/14/2021

                          This is a message YOU DO NOT want to ignore! If you DO NOT read the lease you’re gonna get screwed. These people are thieves and have no mercy. Maintenance will enter your apartment without reservation. You will NOT receive your total deposit when leave.… See More >
                            Manager

                            5/17/2021

                            Harbor Lake Apartments
                            Thank you for your feedback. We always aim to deliver a great experience-we take resident reviews very seriously, as they help us continue to provide excellent service and understand areas where we can improve. We'd love to discuss any additional concerns you may still have regarding your move out. Please feel free to message me privately at residentservicesIL@monarchinvestment.com. Again, thank you for your feedback.
                            Review Author Icon

                            anonymous

                            Resident 2020

                            11/23/2020

                            This apartment complex sucks. The employees in the leasing office are so unprofessional. All of the women are extremely unprofessional and I honestly don't know how in the world they still work here. All except Christian. My rent is supposed to be $975 a month… See More >
                              Manager

                              11/23/2020

                              Harbor Lake Apartments
                              We are extremely saddened that this is how you feel. It sounds like there may be some confusion regarding your rent and/or what is listed in your lease agreement. We most certainly would love to clarify any questions or concerns you may have. We also would really like more information regarding the disturbances you've mentioned so that we can handle them appropriately. Also, if you should have a maintenance request for something in your apartment that is broken, please put in a service request either online in your resident portal, or by calling the office. Please reach out directly at residentservicesIL@monarchinvestment.com so that we can remedy your concerns.
                              Review Author Icon

                              anonymous

                              prospectiveVisited 2020

                              11/20/2020

                              Yes, I love the layout of the apartment and the building as well, close by every thing you may need shopping, food, meds. Friendly staff not to high on rent takes pets some places won't let you have a pet think it would be a… See More >
                                Manager

                                11/20/2020

                                Harbor Lake Apartments
                                This is great news, Olivia, we can't thank you enough! We appreciate you taking the time to share your 5-star experience here at Harbor Lake. It's awesome you pointed out that we're pet friendly- we want all our residents (4-legged furry ones as well) to have an enjoyable experience, so don't hesitate to reach out if there's anything we can do for you during your application or move in process!
                                Review Author Icon

                                Community’s

                                Resident 2018 - 2020

                                6/27/2020

                                Do NOT move HERE, the place is so dirty, they evict everyone and don't care for ----- and ---------, place has Bugs and mice they don't care. Place floods you will lose all your stuff! The office is horrible and rude, they charge your for… See More >
                                  Manager

                                  6/30/2020

                                  Harbor Lake Apartments
                                  We would really like the opportunity to discuss your concerns with you personally and invite you to contact us at residentservicesIL@monarchinvestment.com. We are truly saddened that your experience was not as great as we would have liked. We take bad reviews very seriously, and we would like to communicate with you regarding these these serious accusations and concerns at your earliest convenience.
                                  Review Author Icon

                                  Sylvia_L378

                                  Resident 2016 - 2020

                                  2/14/2020

                                  This apartment complex is the WORST place to live, I live in the 1600 building since 2016 & we have had nothing but problems from the day we moved in. The staff and maintenance here are rude, they swear at you,play on Facebook, don't let… See More >
                                    Manager

                                    2/18/2020

                                    Harbor Lake Apartments
                                    Sylvia_L378, please reach out to me immediately so we can discuss these concerns and resolve any situation that may still be outstanding. You can reach me directly at ResidentServicesIL@monarchinvestment.com.
                                    Review Author Icon

                                    anonymous

                                    Resident 2020

                                    1/30/2020

                                    The staff is completely rude and not understanding. There's always something going wrong if its not arguing the police or maintenance its something else. Not to mention the maintenance guys are perverts they stare all in your window when"cutting grass" When In your home they… See More >
                                      Manager

                                      2/7/2020

                                      Harbor Lake Apartments
                                      Dear anonymous, thank you for your feedback. We always aim to deliver a great experience-we take resident reviews very seriously, as they help us continue to provide excellent service and understand areas where we can improve. We'd love to discuss your concerns in more detail, but unfortunately, we don't know who you are. Please feel free to message me directly at ResidentServicesIL@Monarchinvestment.com so we can discuss. Again, thank you for your feedback.
                                      Review Author Icon

                                      anonymous

                                      Resident 2015 - 2019

                                      12/4/2019

                                      I unfortunately sympathize and can relate to a lot of what was said by other tenants on this site. Below quality apartments but raise your rent every year. Completely and totally unprofessional , when u walk in you more than likely walking to over hear… See More >
                                        Manager

                                        12/7/2019

                                        Harbor Lake Apartments
                                        Dear anonymous, thank you for your feedback. We always aim to deliver a great experience-we take resident reviews very seriously, as they help us continue to provide excellent service and understand areas where we can improve. We'd love to discuss your concerns in more detail, but unfortunately, we don't know who you are. Please feel free to message me privately at ResidentServicesWi@monarchinvestment.com so we can discuss. Again, thank you for your feedback.
                                        Review Author Icon

                                        anonymous

                                        Resident 2018 - 2019

                                        8/19/2019

                                        Renters Beware!! By far the worst experience i have ever had when renting an apartment Couldn't wait to move out of there multiple police calls, people overdosing and passing out in the mail room people fighting in the hallway trash in the hallways which never… See More >
                                          Manager

                                          8/30/2019

                                          Harbor Lake Apartments
                                          Dear anonymous, thank you for your feedback. We always aim to deliver a great experience-we take resident reviews very seriously, as they help us continue to provide excellent service and understand areas where we can improve. We'd love to discuss your concerns in more detail, but unfortunately, we don't know who you are. Please feel free to message me privately at residentservicesIL@monarchinvestment.com so we can discuss. Again, thank you for your feedback.
                                          Review Author Icon

                                          anonymous

                                          Resident 2019

                                          1/29/2019

                                          I want to warn people how the onsite staff flat out lie and are utterly useless once you move in. Lots of rules not discussed and fees. Filthy building, unsafe with security issues, rodent issues, laundry sucks. Parking issues and spaces not plowed right. Stay… See More >
                                            Manager

                                            9/25/2020

                                            Harbor Lake Apartments
                                            We are sorry that your experience at our community didn’t quite match your expectations. We would love to know more and address any current concerns you may have. You may reach us anytime at residentservicesIL@monarchinvestment.com. Again, thank you for your feedback.
                                            Review Author Icon

                                            donnaw26

                                            Resident 2017 - 2018

                                            7/30/2018

                                            My husband and I had a terrible experience at Harbor Lake during the year that we lived there... When we first signed our lease, they told us that they waived the application fee for us and then about 2 weeks or so later, they were… See More >
                                              Review Author Icon

                                              Ratfest

                                              Resident 2016 - 2018

                                              3/24/2018

                                              To anyone looking to rent here please read the other tenants reviews also. I am a long term tenant counting down the days till I move. The negative reviews are true. I honestly should not have given this place another year. They will at first… See More >
                                                Review Author Icon

                                                Janaye_K

                                                Resident 2016 - 2017

                                                12/27/2017

                                                Rude and awful office staff. Hidden and petty fees. I've gotten eviction notices on my door after rent has been paid. Low quality apartment. Tub was painted white, has since chipped very badly at the bottom, requested a fix months ago nothing. I've had leaks… See More >
                                                  Review Author Icon

                                                  Zach_S815

                                                  Resident 2016 - 2017

                                                  9/8/2017

                                                  I've never had my blood boil so quickly as trying to deal with the property managers of this complex. Over the year I've lived here, I had two separate instances where my rent wouldn't be paid on time. The first time, I dealt with the… See More >
                                                    Manager

                                                    9/11/2017

                                                    Harbor Lake Apartments
                                                    Hello, my name is Jonathan with Monarch Investment and Management. I am sorry that your experience at our property has been unsatisfactory. I will be happy to look into any concerns that you have about Harbor Lake. Please email me at jbundy@monarchinvestment.com, or you can reach out to our on-site staff.

                                                    Features & Amenities

                                                    Laundry
                                                    • Laundry On-Site
                                                    • Washer/Dryer
                                                    Parking
                                                    • Off Street Parking Available
                                                    Pets
                                                    • Dogs Allowed
                                                      Fee: $350. Rent: $30. Restrictions: Breed/weight restrictions apply, please contact the office for additional information.. Pet Limit: 2. Comments: $350 non-refundable one time pet fee per pet, $30 monthly pet fee per pet.
                                                      Less Info
                                                      More Info
                                                    • Cats Allowed
                                                      Fee: $350. Rent: $30. Restrictions: Breed/weight restrictions apply, please contact the office for additional information.. Pet Limit: 2. Comments: $350 non-refundable one time pet fee per pet, $30 monthly pet fee per pet.
                                                      Less Info
                                                      More Info
                                                    Other
                                                    • Air Conditioner
                                                    • BBQ and Picnic Area
                                                    • Bike Racks
                                                    • Carpet
                                                    • Courtyard
                                                    • Flexible Monthly Rent Payments with Flex Rent
                                                    • Gas Range
                                                    • Large Closets
                                                    • Linen Closets
                                                    • On-Site Maintenance
                                                    • On-Site Management
                                                    • Outdoor Pavilion with Grill
                                                    • Package Receiving Service
                                                    • Pet-Friendly Community
                                                    • Playground
                                                    • Pool
                                                    • Refrigerator
                                                    • Se Habla Espanol
                                                    • Stainless Steel Appliances
                                                    Show Less
                                                    Show More

                                                    Leasing

                                                    Welcome home to Harbor Lake Apartments in Waukegan, IL! We have Studio, 1, and 2 bedroom apartments. Take a stroll on the winding path that surrounds our private lake, unwind by the pool, or relax in the comfort of your generous apartment home. We are the home for you if you are in the mood for shopping, dining, and entertainment. Harbor Lake Apartments is also close to major roads, public transportation, and many major employers.
                                                    Show Less

                                                    Office Hours

                                                    • Sunday: Closed
                                                    • Monday - Friday: 08:00 AM - 06:00 PM
                                                    • Saturday: 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
                                                    This community is managed by

                                                    Monarch Investment & Management Group

                                                    A-
                                                    A-
                                                    Communities
                                                    321

                                                    Questions & Answers (0)

                                                    Frequently Asked

                                                    How is Harbor Lake Apartments Rated?
                                                    Based on 66 number of votes by renters, Harbor Lake Apartments is currently rated 2.3 out of 5 stars.
                                                    How satisfied are residents with the upkeep and overall appearance of the grounds at Harbor Lake Apartments ?
                                                    Harbor Lake Apartments is rated 4/5 stars in our renters grounds survey, which is considered good. The grounds are generally well maintained and attractive.
                                                    How effective was the maintenance team when resolving your problem?
                                                    Harbor Lake Apartments is rated 4.5/5 stars in our renters maintenance survey, which is considered excellent. The maintenance team is very responsive and effective in addressing issues.
                                                    What are noise levels like at Harbor Lake Apartments ?
                                                    Harbor Lake Apartments is rated 4.5/5 stars in our renters noise survey, which is considered excellent. The noise level is consistently low and does not cause any disturbances.
                                                    How safe is Harbor Lake Apartments ?
                                                    Harbor Lake Apartments is rated 4/5 stars in our renters safety survey, which is considered good. The complex is generally safe, with occasional minor safety concerns.
                                                    How satisfied are residents with the neighborhood?
                                                    Harbor Lake Apartments is rated 5/5 stars in our renters neighborhood survey, which is considered excellent. The complex is located in a very desirable and safe neighborhood with convenient access to local attractions and services.
                                                    How satisfied are residents with the staff at Harbor Lake Apartments ?
                                                    Harbor Lake Apartments is rated 5/5 stars in our renters staff survey, which is considered excellent. The staff is extremely helpful and responsive to resident needs.
                                                    How often does management engage with reviews?
                                                    Managers have responded to 100% of their community reviews in the past year.
                                                    How quickly does management engage with reviews?
                                                    Managers have replied within 10.5 days to their community reviews in the past year.
                                                    Who manages Harbor Lake Apartments ?
                                                    Monarch Investment & Management Group
                                                    What is the pet policy at Harbor Lake Apartments ?
                                                    Dogs Allowed
                                                    Fee: $350
                                                    Rent: $30
                                                    Restrictions: Breed/weight restrictions apply, please contact the office for additional information.
                                                    Pet Limit: 2
                                                    Comments: $350 non-refundable one time pet fee per pet, $30 monthly pet fee per pet.
                                                    Cats Allowed
                                                    Fee: $350
                                                    Rent: $30
                                                    Restrictions: Breed/weight restrictions apply, please contact the office for additional information.
                                                    Pet Limit: 2
                                                    Comments: $350 non-refundable one time pet fee per pet, $30 monthly pet fee per pet.
                                                    What types of floor plans are available?
                                                    1 Bed, 1 Bath
                                                    2 Beds, 1 Bath
                                                    2 Beds, 2 Baths
                                                    Studio, 1 Bath
                                                    What is the move-in special?
                                                    Free March Rent On Any Available Studio or 1 Bedroom Apartment!

                                                    Contact Property

                                                    Harbor Lake Apartments

                                                    March 2024

                                                    Sun
                                                    Mon
                                                    Tue
                                                    Wed
                                                    Thu
                                                    Fri
                                                    Sat
                                                    1
                                                    2
                                                    3
                                                    4
                                                    5
                                                    6
                                                    7
                                                    8
                                                    9
                                                    10
                                                    11
                                                    12
                                                    13
                                                    14
                                                    15
                                                    16
                                                    17
                                                    18
                                                    19
                                                    20
                                                    21
                                                    22
                                                    23
                                                    24
                                                    25
                                                    26
                                                    27
                                                    28
                                                    29
                                                    30
                                                    Beds

                                                    0

                                                    Baths

                                                    0

                                                    Harbor Lake Apartments is a 445 - 1,040 sq. ft. apartment in Waukegan in zip code 60087. This community has a 1 - 2 Beds, 1 - 2 Baths, and is for rent for $900 - $1,020. Nearby cities include Park City, North Chicago, Gurnee, Beach Park, and Wadsworth.

                                                    Your privacy and identity are important to us. Please review the Terms and Guidelines before sharing private or non-public information with matches.