C-

Shadowood

110 Piney Mountain Road, Chapel Hill, NC 27514
110 Piney Mountain Road, Chapel Hill, NC 27514

Check Availability

Shadowood

 
 
 
 
 
 

epIQ Report Card

In partnership with SatisFacts™

Community epIQ Grade N/A

Ratings & Reviews (105 Reviews)

Filter
  • 5 out of 5
  • 4 out of 5
  • 3 out of 5
  • 2 out of 5
  • 1 out of 5
No reviews match your search.
Resident 2019 - 2020
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
06/04/2020
Shadowood was alright. The best thing about it is the location near the school, and the price is less absurd than everywhere else in CH. My only big issues were bugs and noise. The bugs were constant, even when my apartment was at its cleanest. I… See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report
Vintagecollectiblesandtoys_N • Resident 2020
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
02/17/2020
Company wants to charge a sick person 5k to move out.. Extremely noisy. Walls are thin. Apartments are next to highway. Photos of apartments that company has listed are of the most expensive apartments. More reasonably priced apartments are in a terrible location. Blatantly misleading advertising.… See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report
Resident 2017 - 2019
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
11/17/2019
Very happy here 2+ years now. Quiet, safe, convenient. No bugs. Lots of windows... Where do you get a window in your kitchen and in your bath? Occasional maintenance issue which takes time to resolve if its major. Minor ones resolved in a couple of days.… See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report
Resident 2019
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
10/02/2019
Bugs. That's all I have to say about this place. My first week after moving in I would kill about 5 roaches a day. After complaining and getting a visit from the exterminator, the problem slowed a bit but I still have to kill something at… See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report
Ali_J989 • Resident 2017 - 2018
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
08/30/2018
To me, shadowood is a "you get what you pay for" kind of place. Being one of the cheaper options in Chapel Hill, we signed because of the price and one of the staff members, John, being so helpful. Also, we were told our apartment was… See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report
Resident 2017 - 2018
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
05/20/2018
Been here 8 mo. We really love it. No place can be perfect so I didn't give it a full 5. But overall maintenance and staff are great. My positives with them much higher than the negatives. We're in a corner unit with great windows and… See More
Useful    1
Thanks for voting!
Report
Brittainy_J • Resident 2016 - 2017
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
12/21/2017
This community is terrible, I would not even recommend it for students...I literally have two different carpets in different parts of the apartment (which I asked if they could resolve), they will not let you look at the apartment before you move in for just this… See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report

Shadowood Manager

12/28/2017

Hi Brittainy_J, Thank you for your important feedback. I want to make this right for you. Can we setup a time to meet and I will be happy to do a walkthrough of your home and discuss options to make your stay with us more pleasant? Just let me know. I would love to help in any way I can. Feel free to stop by the clubhouse or give us a call. Sincerely, Ben Property Manager Shadowood Apartments 919-967-0661

Resident 2015 - 2017
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
05/10/2017
I'm a current resident and management has asked us to post reviews of the property. Overall, I've had an OK experience here. I would recommend this complex to undergraduates. As a professional student, I've had some issues with noise when I'm trying to get to sleep… See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report

Shadowood Manager

05/11/2017

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and opinions of Shadowood Apartments here on Apartment Ratings. Reviews on sites like this help us address issues so we can improve as a management team. We will contact you directly as soon as possible to help resolve these issues and any others that might be troubling you about your stay at Shadowood Apartments. If you have urgent concerns, please contact the community office at (919) 967-0661, e-mail [email protected] or emergency maintenance at (919) 601-4442. Thank you again for your review and we hope you have a wonderful day!

zbuchin • Prospective Resident Visited 2017
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
04/11/2017
I put down a deposit to live here and signed the pre-lease which I was told by a member of staff guaranteed me a unit. Therefore, I removed my other housing holds at other locations. Months later and two months before my move in date, they… See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report
Resident 2015 - 2017
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
03/28/2017
As a grad student at UNC, this is a great value. With respect to location, maintenance and staff, Shadowood is pretty much as cost-effective as you will see in Chapel Hill. In particular, the bus line is pretty dank, because parking around Chapel Hill is next… See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report

Shadowood Manager

03/28/2017

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and opinions of Shadowood Apartments here on Apartment Ratings. Reviews on sites like this help us recognize things that people appreciate about our service and what we must continue to do to make living at Shadowood the best experience possible. If you have any issues or concerns, feel free to contact the community office at (919) 967-0661 or e-mail [email protected] so that they may be addressed. Thank you again for your review and we hope you have a wonderful day!

Resident 2013 - 2015
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
02/23/2017
I loved living at Shadowood! It has honestly been the best apartment I have ever lived in. See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report

Shadowood Manager

03/02/2017

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and opinions of Shadowood Apartments here on Apartment Ratings. Reviews on sites like this help us recognize things that people appreciate about our service and what we must continue to do to make living at Shadowood the best experience possible. If you have any issues or concerns, feel free to contact the community office at (919) 967-0661 or e-mail [email protected] so that they may be addressed. Thank you again for your review and we hope you have a wonderful day!

rpark12 • Resident 2014 - 2017
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
02/09/2017
Shadowood Apartments is right off MLK Blvd with 3 different bus lines going into campus (A, T, NS). This makes it a great location for anyone that studies or works at UNC or Franklin Street. For those that have their own cars, parking is ample and… See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report

Shadowood Manager

02/13/2017

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and opinions of Shadowood Apartments here on Apartment Ratings. Reviews on sites like this help us recognize things that people appreciate about our service and what we must continue to do to make living at Shadowood the best experience possible. If you have any issues or concerns, feel free to contact the community office at (919) 967-0661 or e-mail [email protected] so that they may be addressed. Thank you again for your review and we hope you have a wonderful day!

jtovar13 • Resident 2015 - 2017
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
02/08/2017
Love, Love living here. So close to everything!!! Great walking trails. Amazing Gym & Pool area!! Wonderful staff very attentive. Maintenance staff incredible! See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report

Shadowood Manager

02/13/2017

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and opinions of Shadowood Apartments here on Apartment Ratings. Reviews on sites like this help us recognize things that people appreciate about our service and what we must continue to do to make living at Shadowood the best experience possible. If you have any issues or concerns, feel free to contact the community office at (919) 967-0661 or e-mail [email protected] so that they may be addressed. Thank you again for your review and we hope you have a wonderful day!

Jojiro • Resident 2015 - 2017
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
02/06/2017
I am currently living in Shadowood as I finish my undergraduate degree. I've lived in two separate apartments here, moving from one to the other during the summer, and both apartments were clean and well-maintained. The location of the apartments is excellent for students, as it… See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report

Shadowood Manager

02/13/2017

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and opinions of Shadowood Apartments here on Apartment Ratings. Reviews on sites like this help us recognize things that people appreciate about our service and what we must continue to do to make living at Shadowood the best experience possible. If you have any issues or concerns, feel free to contact the community office at (919) 967-0661 or e-mail [email protected] so that they may be addressed. Thank you again for your review and we hope you have a wonderful day!

alorenzo01 • Resident 2011 - 2017
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
02/06/2017
I lived at Shadowood during undergrad, moved away after I graduated from UNC for a job, and moved back about 10 months ago. When I first lived at Shadowood, I lived in a regular two bedroom garden (one floor) apartment. It was a great undergrad apartment:… See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report

Shadowood Manager

02/13/2017

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and opinions of Shadowood Apartments here on Apartment Ratings. Reviews on sites like this help us recognize things that people appreciate about our service and what we must continue to do to make living at Shadowood the best experience possible. If you have any issues or concerns, feel free to contact the community office at (919) 967-0661 or e-mail [email protected] so that they may be addressed. Thank you again for your review and we hope you have a wonderful day!

butthaus • Resident 2014 - 2015
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
06/01/2015
Shadowood is a real mixed bag. Appearance:The apartments are tiny and old and the appliances are ancient unless you get one of the "rennovated" apartments, which have fairly unsubstantial cosmetic improvements considering how considerably more per month they cost. The grounds are fairly well kept however… See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report
Resident 2013 - 2015
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
04/26/2015
My personal experience with this apartment is awful. I agree with the previous reviews and wanted to add a few: There are some residents that has been on property for a loooooong time. For some reason, they are treated much better than everyone else. They enjoy… See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report
Resident 2013 - 2014
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
10/02/2014
This is a decent apartment complex with odd manage team and leasing terms. Every apartment has problems but some of them are just annoying. NOTICE: READ your lease before you sign them! pros: 1. The apartment is close to major road MLK BLVD. A, T and… See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report
kp49 • Prospective Resident Visited 2014
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
06/27/2014
This place seemed nice at first until I was SCAMMED. I was tricked into signed a "pre-lease" which they assured me that it was just to hold the apt and I would sign the "real" lease on move-in day. I later decided I would move out… See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report
Resident 2010 - 2013
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
06/08/2014
Pros: responsive maintenance, renovated gym/ apartments are nice, allows pets, near bus stop. Cons: Chances are good you won't get your security deposit back because they apparently don't paint apartments after tenants move out. So if you have any wear and tear on the walls chances… See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report
shadowoodsuck • Resident 2013 - 2014
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
01/09/2014
I can write a 10-page essay about this apartment but I am not going to because it's just not worthy of my time and commitment. My point is do not live here. The inside is cave-like with pest problems and the laundry-dryer unit is not efficient,… See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report
ChristopherMiller • Resident 2011 - 2013
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
12/10/2013
I got one of the "renovated" apartments at extra charge; the pipes under both sinks leaked, and the garbage disposal still doesn't work. I had to live with neighbors who had a dog that barked loudly and constantly, and there seems to be essentially no noise… See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report

Shadowood Manager

12/12/2013

Thank you for your response regarding your recent stay at Shadowood Apartments. I am sorry to hear it was not to your satisfaction. We take every concern seriously as we want residents to enjoy where they live. We strive to provide the best possible accommodations to each of our residents and will continue to do so in the future. Shadowood Apartments provides ample parking throughout the community; however, some parking lots fill quicker than others which may require residents to walk a bit further than preferred. Should you have further concerns, please feel free to contact Shadowood's office as the Property Manager would be more than happy to address your concerns directly. Community is important to us; therefore, we want every resident to feel at home. Once again, thank you for your recent feedback.

shadowoodsukc • Resident 2013
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
10/07/2013
I would not recommend this apartment at all. Yes, the pool and gym is really nice. No, I don't mind living in a very old building with roaches, spiders and silver fish accompanying me. No, I don't mind spending several hours on drying my clothes in… See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report
Resident 2010 - 2013
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
08/01/2013
I lived there for three years and it was adequate. There was no good or bad until the end when you get nickel and dimmed for the deposit. They don't include normal wear and tear on your apartment so they WILL take all of your deposit.… See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report

Shadowood Manager

08/01/2013

Thank you for the response. We want every resident to have a positive experience; therefore, your concern is extremely importance to us. Shadowood has high standards which has had a positive impact on the overall satisfaction of our residents. When a resident moves out of their apartment, a move out inspection is completed by management to evaluate the condition of the apartment. We strongly encourage residents to be present during the inspection so they are not surprised in the event charges are assessed. We only charge residents for damages exceeding average wear and tear. If you feel you were charged incorrectly, please contact our office so we may discuss. Once again, thank you for your recent feedback.

ckao11 • Resident 2013
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
06/27/2013
Lived there for a year. When they decided to up the rent by 100 after a year it was time to go. They are obviously in it for the money and not for the well being of the renters. I brought my parrot because I had… See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report

Shadowood Manager

07/09/2013

Thank you for your response regarding living at Shadowood Apartments. I am sorry to hear it was not to your satisfaction. We take every concern seriously as we want residents to enjoy where they live. The recent addition of the new clubhouse and fitness center has had a positive impact on the overall satisfaction of our residents. In order to maintain many of the physical attributes of the community, rental increases will be necessary from time to time. We strive to provide the best possible accommodations to each of our residents and will continue to do so in the future. We will continue to take every precaution necessary in order to provide a comfortable environment where our residents come first. Shadowood is a great place to relax and enjoy the serene country feel while in the heart of Chapel Hill. The trees located throughout the community offer a wonderful nature setting and a great place to relax on a hot summer day. Shadowood Apartments is a pet friendly community and we LOVE our furry friends. Our current pet policy states a one-time non returnable pet fee for cats and dogs only, not for birds or any other caged animal. If you feel you were charged incorrectly, please contact our office so we may provide further research. Community is important to us; therefore, we want every resident to feel at home. Once again, thank you for your recent feedback.

 Updated Review
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
Useful    
Thanks for voting!  

Manager

 
·

Features & Amenities

Laundry

  • Laundry On-Site
  • Laundry in Units

Parking

  • Uncovered Parking

General

  • Community Center
  • Gym
  • Pool

Pets

  • Dogs Allowed
    Comments: $300-$400 one time pet fee

Floor Plans & Pricing

1 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom

  • Price
    Price

    $770

  • SQ. FT.

    533

  • Available
    Avail.

    N/A

  • Model

    1 Bedroom

1 Bedrooms, 1.5 Bathrooms

  • Price
    Price

    $870

  • SQ. FT.

    766

  • Available
    Avail.

    N/A

  • Model

    1 Bedroom

2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms

  • Price
    Price

    $1,055

  • SQ. FT.

    833

  • Available
    Avail.

    N/A

  • Model

    2 Bedrooms

  • Price
    Price

    $1,055

  • SQ. FT.

    1,116

  • Available
    Avail.

    N/A

  • Model

    2 Bedrooms

Disclaimer: Special, prices and availabilities subject to change.

Leasing:

Dreaming of your perfect apartment home in Chapel Hill? Shadowood Apartments offers the luxury you deserve, at prices you can afford! We are located near local favorites such as the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (UNC) and the Carolina North Forest. Your new home is just minutes away from excellent shopping, business districts, and entertainment with easy access to the I-40 and all major Triangle Region freeways. Nestled amongst the beautiful wooded landscape, you are sure to find the Shadowood lifestyle superior in both comfort and convenience. With four luxurious floor plans to choose from, our apartment homes set the standard for a casual yet upscale lifestyle. Shadowood features some of the area's most spacious one and two bedroom floor plans. Designed with you in mind, our units feature details such as designer kitchen cabinetry, stainless steel appliances, granite-look countertops, and in-home washer/dryers as well as the option of hardwood-style flooring. Choose from distinctive features that include walk-in closets, outdoor decks or patios, vaulted ceilings, and fireplaces. You will be well taken care of by our friendly on-site management and professional maintenance team, including access to 24 hour emergency maintenance service. Worry free living at its best! Enjoy unlimited access to a state-of-the-art fitness center, upscale resident clubhouse with free Wi-Fi, business center and complimentary coffee bar. Cool off in the shimmering pool after a fun day of sand volleyball, or other activities hosted by our Active ResLife Program on the sport courts. Relax at the end of the day with our enchanting fire pit. At Shadowood, your lifestyle is our priority! Resort-style living is more affordable than you think at Shadowood Apartments. Call and schedule a personal tour today, or reserve your new home online!

Questions & Answers

There are no questions yet for this property!
Be the first to ask.

Your question has been submitted!

Please allow up to 24 hours for your answer to be visible to the public.

·
Type your answer:
Please allow up to 24 hours for your answer to be visible to the public.
Please allow up to 24 hours for your answer to be visible to the public.
· Just Now

Frequently Asked

What are noise levels like at Shadowood?
The community is rated 3.3/5 stars, which is considered having quiet noise levels on average.

How satisfied are residents with the upkeep and overall appearance of the grounds at Shadowood?
The community is rated 3/5 stars, signifying moderate satisfaction on average.

How safe is Shadowood?
The community is rated 4.3/5 stars, which is considered being extremely safe on average.

How satisfied are residents with the neighborhood
The community is rated 3.5/5 stars, signifying much satisfaction on average.

How effective was the maintenance team when resolving your problem?
The community is rated 3/5 stars, which is considered being moderately effective on average.

What is the pet policy at Shadowood?
$300-$400 one time pet fee

What types of floor plans are available?
1 Bed, 1 Bath and 1 Bed, 1.5 Baths and 2 Beds, 2 Baths


Shadowood Gallery

Manager Uploaded Photos

Similar Properties

Placeholder for Union Chapel Hill

Union Chapel Hill

Chapel Hill, NC

Image of Notting Hill by ARIUM in Chapel Hill, NC

Notting Hill by ARIUM

Chapel Hill, NC

Image of Dobbins Hill in Chapel Hill, NC

Dobbins Hill

Chapel Hill, NC

Shadowood is a 533 - 1,116 sqft apartment in Chapel Hill in zip code 27514. This community has a 1 - 2 bedroom, 1 - 2 bathroom, and is for rent for $770 - $1,055. Nearby cities include Carrboro, Durham, Hillsborough, Morrisville, and Cary. 27517, 27510, 27516, 27707, and 27713 are nearby zip codes.

  • Price

  • Sq. Ft.

  • Availability

  • Model

Shadowood

Provided by Property Management

Management Photos (34)

  • (Manager photo uploaded on 02/24/2017) Image of Shadowood in Chapel Hill, NC
  • (Manager photo uploaded on 02/24/2017) Image of Shadowood in Chapel Hill, NC
  • (Manager photo uploaded on 02/24/2017) Image of Shadowood in Chapel Hill, NC
  • (Manager photo uploaded on 02/24/2017) Image of Shadowood in Chapel Hill, NC
  • (Manager photo uploaded on 02/24/2017) Image of Shadowood in Chapel Hill, NC
  • (Manager photo uploaded on 02/24/2017) Image of Shadowood in Chapel Hill, NC
  • (Manager photo uploaded on 02/24/2017) Image of Shadowood in Chapel Hill, NC
  • (Manager photo uploaded on 02/24/2017) Image of Shadowood in Chapel Hill, NC
  • (Manager photo uploaded on 02/24/2017) Image of Shadowood in Chapel Hill, NC
  • (Manager photo uploaded on 02/24/2017) Image of Shadowood in Chapel Hill, NC
  • (Manager photo uploaded on 02/24/2017) Image of Shadowood in Chapel Hill, NC
  • (Manager photo uploaded on 02/24/2017) Image of Shadowood in Chapel Hill, NC
  • (Manager photo uploaded on 02/24/2017) Image of Shadowood in Chapel Hill, NC
  • (Manager photo uploaded on 02/24/2017) Image of Shadowood in Chapel Hill, NC
  • (Manager photo uploaded on 02/24/2017) Image of Shadowood in Chapel Hill, NC
  • (Manager photo uploaded on 02/24/2017) Image of Shadowood in Chapel Hill, NC
  • (Manager photo uploaded on 02/24/2017) Image of Shadowood in Chapel Hill, NC
  • (Manager photo uploaded on 02/24/2017) Image of Shadowood in Chapel Hill, NC
  • (Manager photo uploaded on 02/24/2017) Image of Shadowood in Chapel Hill, NC
  • (Manager photo uploaded on 02/24/2017) Image of Shadowood in Chapel Hill, NC
  • (Manager photo uploaded on 02/24/2017) Image of Shadowood in Chapel Hill, NC
  • (Manager photo uploaded on 02/24/2017) Image of Shadowood in Chapel Hill, NC
  • (Manager photo uploaded on 02/24/2017) Image of Shadowood in Chapel Hill, NC
  • (Manager photo uploaded on 02/24/2017) Image of Shadowood in Chapel Hill, NC
  • (Manager photo uploaded on 02/24/2017) Image of Shadowood in Chapel Hill, NC
  • (Manager photo uploaded on 02/24/2017) Image of Shadowood in Chapel Hill, NC
  • (Manager photo uploaded on 02/24/2017) Image of Shadowood in Chapel Hill, NC
  • (Manager photo uploaded on 02/24/2017) Image of Shadowood in Chapel Hill, NC
  • (Manager photo uploaded on 02/24/2017) Image of Shadowood in Chapel Hill, NC
  • (Manager photo uploaded on 02/24/2017) Image of Shadowood in Chapel Hill, NC
  • (Manager photo uploaded on 02/24/2017) Image of Shadowood in Chapel Hill, NC
  • (Manager photo uploaded on 02/24/2017) Image of Shadowood in Chapel Hill, NC
  • (Manager photo uploaded on 02/24/2017) Image of Shadowood in Chapel Hill, NC
  • (Manager photo uploaded on 02/24/2017) Image of Shadowood in Chapel Hill, NC

Provided by Other Residents

Resident Photos (2)

  • (Resident photo uploaded on 09/28/2014) Image of Shadowood in Chapel Hill, NC
  • (Resident photo uploaded on 12/09/2019) Image of Shadowood in Chapel Hill, NC
  Back To Top