N/A

Beech Lake

4800 University Drive, Durham, NC 27707
4800 University Drive, Durham, NC 27707

Check Availability

Beech Lake

 
 
 
 
 
 

epIQ Report Card

In partnership with SatisFacts™

Community epIQ Grade N/A

Ratings & Reviews (143 Reviews)

Filter
  • 5 out of 5
  • 4 out of 5
  • 3 out of 5
  • 2 out of 5
  • 1 out of 5
No reviews match your search.
wfcbucs • Resident 2019
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
03/01/2019
Average complex compared to othe communities I have lived in. The amenities need to improve. Also my carpet and wall paint is old. My wife and I are not sure we plan to renew our lease in June. Terrible dog park area it is always muddy… See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report
Resident 2018 - 2019
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
01/22/2019
I am leaving and finding a new apartment because I can't stand the noise in this neighborhood. People blare their music in their cars and just sit out there with the bass shaking the walls of my apartment. My neighbor has a kid that screams at… See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report
Ryn12345 • Prospective Resident Visited 2017
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
05/13/2017
I can highly recommend the service I received from the manager Paula and her staff. I had a situation where I needed a handicap accessible apartment immediately for my mother and they went above and beyond my expectations in helping me to find the perfect place… See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report
laughy0girl • Prospective Resident Visited 2017
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
05/05/2017
Worth reading before you look at Beech Lake apartments. I found the perfect apartment... And then had it ripped away from me. The apartment was second-floor vaulted ceilings 934 sq ft 1 bedroom/1 bath with an extra Den, wooded view, classic renovation which meant tan color… See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report
Abowade3 • Resident 2014 - 2017
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
03/09/2017
I loved been at beech lake the community is very charming and quite. The neighbors are very welcoming and outgoing. When I first moved In it was under Westdale management it was good but when capreit took over it became so much better. Paula the community… See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report
nicolemarie32st • Resident 2016 - 2017
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
01/18/2017
I wish I could give 0 stars! I read the reviews on this apartment complex before moving in and just like everyone else I decided that situations happen and I would find out for myself. There are some petty people out there that you just can't… See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report
JUL0715 • Resident 2015 - 2016
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
07/15/2016
We have lived at Beech Lake for a little over a year now. It's on a nice side of Durham that isn't that bad. However, in the last few months there has been break-ins and vandalism in the complex. I don't feel that safe here and… See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report
Resident 2016
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
06/02/2016
We moved in recently to Beech Lake apartments. They few minor issues we had were fixed the day we called. The maintenance staff are incredibly friendly. Property manager was open to our suggestions and facilitated a smooth move. Its been a good experience so far and… See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report
Resident 2013 - 2015
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
01/22/2016
My husband and I used to live here. This is our first apartment since we relocated from Illinois. We moved out on Nov. 26th last year, until now they haven't returned our $306 security deposit. By law, they should return it within 30 days. Our family… See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report
eag84 • Resident 2013 - 2015
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
11/24/2015
Hate this place. Massive wood roaches every fall, carpet smelled like pee before we cleaned it, musty bathrooms, hear through ceiling quite clearly, lady upstairs lets her dog go onto the deck above ours and pee where it then leaks around her tarp and dribbles onto… See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report
 cbaile4601 851212vrp 2013 - 2015
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
09/26/2015
I have lived at Beech Lake for two years, and the place isn't the worst. The layout of the apartment is a bit awkward. The front door of my 1 bedroom opens to a wall. It was hard moving large items like my bed and couches… See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report
Resident 2013 - 2015
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
04/06/2015
So, to start off when I first moved here it wAs ok. But then me and my roomates realized that roaches had been squatting here before us. The maintenance is awful! It takes several times for them to fix an issue. Even then they don't do… See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report
cbaker28 • Resident 2008 - 2015
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
01/20/2015
I live out here for 3yrs. At first it was a wonderful place to live. Until they switched management. The new property manager is very unprofessional,rude,and hateful. I moved into a two bedroom into her building and it was awful she her family lived above me,… See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report
Resident 2014 - 2015
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
01/06/2015
Beech Lake is an awful place to reside, don't let the enhanced pictures fool you. The office staff is unorganized, unprofessional, and not knowledgeable about their own property and proceedings. This is the absolute worst property that I have ever resided in, and I am extremely… See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report
Resident 2014 - 2015
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
01/06/2015
Beech Lake is an awful place to reside, don't let the enhanced pictures fool you. The office staff is unorganized, unprofessional, and not knowledgeable about their own property and proceedings. This is the absolute worst property that I have ever resided in, and I am extremely… See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report
Djchorchy • Resident 2014
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
09/26/2014
I moved here from New York 1 1/2 months ago . I'm glad I found this place . Beech lake is peaceful and clean. I enjoy taking my dogs around the lake, my apartment over looks it and the view is serene and inviting . I… See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report
Prospective Resident Visited 2014
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
09/20/2014
Thank God I didn't make the mistake of moving there.!! The staff is incredibly incompetent. Nice clubhouse and pool area but once you give them your $100 and get approved, it's as if you don't exist, they act like your a nuisance when you come to… See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report
klobo21 • Resident 2014
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
01/31/2014
Beech Lake is perfect for me. There's MORE than enough parking. The office staff is friendly, always available to answer my questions, and are quick to reply to emails and work orders. They're doing it right at Beech Lake. When I moved in, the apartment was… See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report
Resident 2012 - 2014
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
01/05/2014
My heat has been out since Friday night (the coldest day of the season thus far). After calling the office and the Emergency Maintenance line over 10 times, the Maintenance Technician finally showed up at 2pm on Saturday afternoon. After "working" on it for 2 hrs,… See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report
TreKenSky • Resident 2012 - 2013
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
12/04/2013
Heed the warnings and please don't be fooled. DONT MOVE HERE!!! All previous reviews are correct. See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report
scsch710 • Resident 2013
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
12/04/2013
First things first. I am not sure if the people leaving these terrible reviews are crazy, or confused about what establishment they are reviewing. Or perhaps they all moved here from gated communities where there are servants kissing their behinds at every corner, and nothing ever… See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report
Resident 2011 - 2013
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
11/30/2013
First off, I would NOT recommend living here unless of course you like being without water 2-5 times a month for half a day. Some months it was seriously once a week going without water. I know this may sound like a "first world problem" sort… See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report

Beech Lake Manager

12/01/2013

First off I would like to make it very clear that I have been working here since before the current management company started here, and in this time we have never lost a rent check, or had anyone come forth to even suggest that we lost their rent check. If you believe this has happened please come by the office to discuss this with us. I would also like to add that there is no employee here who chains/ties up their dog or pet of any kind. I am not completely sure why you would say such a thing, but this is simply not true. We have had an employee bring her dog to the office on a few occasions, but always on a leash. This is a pet friendly community and all pets are welcome inside and outside the clubhouse. We accept resident packages as a courtesy. We have no control over when they are delivered to our office or for the notification of their delivery. Accepting packages is a service that we offer. We are not responsible for "finding your mail" as we do not work for the US Postal Service. If you are having issues with your mail please contact the post office as they will be able to assist you. Please do not attack this office staff. There is not one person here who is lazy or puts in a "half-assed" effort. We work hard every day for each and every one of our residents and I think it is a shame you are suggesting anything less. I am so sorry that you are unhappy with so many things. If you come up here and really express all of your concerns with a member of the office, we can actually address and resolve your issues. All you have to do is ask one of us to sit down and have a calm rational discussion with you. There is always time for that. Our service team will be happy to take care of any maintenance requests you have.

 abz66 139197vrp 2012 - 2013
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
11/14/2013
I have lived at Beech Lake for over a year now and have thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. So much so that I just renewed my lease. The location is wonderful! It's close to UNC, DUKE, NCCU, and plenty of shopping is available. The staff has… See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report

Beech Lake Manager

12/01/2013

abz66, Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are so glad you happy here at Beech Lake and that you are satisfied with the quality and timeliness of our service team. We are excited you have decided to renew!

Resident 2013
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
11/12/2013
Woo Hoo I just renewed. I would recommend living here and have in the past. A couple of my co-workers live here. Super close to Duke! Plenty of parking which is nice if you have more than one car. The gym could use updated equipment. A… See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report
Resident 2013
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
10/29/2013
Beech Lake Apartments are located in a good area based on distance to Duke. However, I would never rent from them again. The staff is extremely unhelpful and hard to deal with. The maintenance is a joke and will take multiple weeks and visits to fix… See More
Useful    0
Thanks for voting!
Report

Beech Lake Manager

10/30/2013

I'm sorry you are not happy with your experience with Beech Lake. Please contact the office and share your concerns with us. We are all available to see what can be done to make this a much better experience for you. Regarding uniforms, our service team has blue polo shirts with the Westdale Logo on them or white t-shirts in the summer with the Westdale Logo on them. The blue jackets also have the Westdale logo on them. The entire team notifies residents while knocking if they are maintenance or management before entering an apartment. If you would like to meet the service team in the office we can arrange that for you. As for noise in the parking lots if you would please contact our office and let us know where a consistent problem is existing we can notify our Courtesy Officer. 24/7 you can leave our Courtesy Officer a message letting him know of any concerns or disturbances in the community. Just call the office and follow the prompts. Our office is open 7 days a week. If you call and we are unable to answer please leave a message and we will call you back.

 Updated Review
Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Neighborhood
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
Useful    
Thanks for voting!  

Manager

 
·

Features & Amenities

Laundry

  • Laundry On-Site

General

  • Business Center
  • Clubhouse
  • Clubhouse with Wi-Fi and Coffee
  • Fitness Center
  • Free Weights
  • On-Site Maintenance
  • On-Site Management
  • Package Receiving Service
  • Pool
  • Preferred Employer Available
  • Public Transportation
  • Short Term Lease Available
  • Swimming Pool with Sundeck
  • TV Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Wi-Fi Access

Floor Plans & Pricing

1 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom

  • Price
    Price

    N/A

  • SQ. FT.

    780

  • Available
    Avail.

    N/A

  • Model

    The Maple

  • Price
    Price

    N/A

  • SQ. FT.

    934

  • Available
    Avail.

    N/A

  • Model

    The Poplar

2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms

  • Price
    Price

    N/A

  • SQ. FT.

    1,015

  • Available
    Avail.

    N/A

  • Model

    The Cypress

  • Price
    Price

    N/A

  • SQ. FT.

    1,025

  • Available
    Avail.

    N/A

  • Model

    The Willow

  • Price
    Price

    N/A

  • SQ. FT.

    1,038

  • Available
    Avail.

    N/A

  • Model

    The Oak

Disclaimer: Floor Plans data have been collected from Internet users and may not be a reliable indicator of current or comprehensive floor plans offered.

Leasing:

Live along the peaceful shores of a beautiful spring-fed lake at Beech Lake, a wonderful apartment community set on 40 wooded acres in southwest Durham, just minutes from Duke, North Carolina Central, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and the Research Triangle Park. When you're home, relax on your patio or balcony and drink in the views. Unwind by the pool or socialize in the clubhouse. You can stay in shape working out in our brand new fitness center or enjoying a game of tennis on our lighted courts. These charming homes feature wood burning fireplaces, fully eqipped kitchens, washer and dryer connections, generous closet space, and amazing floor plans. With gorgeous landscaping, amenities for every lifestyle, 5-star customer service, and easy access to all of the Universities and major employers, you'll find coming home is the best part of your day.

Questions & Answers (1)

Your question has been submitted!

Please allow up to 24 hours for your answer to be visible to the public.

·
Type your answer:
Please allow up to 24 hours for your answer to be visible to the public.

How easy is it to find guest parking?

Anonymous · March, 19 2018
Please allow up to 24 hours for your answer to be visible to the public.
No answers yet. Be the first to answer.

Frequently Asked

What is the pet policy at Beech Lake?
No pet policy available

What types of floor plans are available?
1 Bed, 1 Bath and 2 Beds, 2 Baths


Beech Lake Gallery

Floor Plans
Resident Uploaded Photos

Similar Properties

Image of Overture Chapel Hill in Chapel Hill, NC

Overture Chapel Hill

Chapel Hill, NC

Image of Dobbins Hill in Chapel Hill, NC

Dobbins Hill

Chapel Hill, NC

Beech Lake is a 780 - 1,038 sqft apartment in Durham in zip code 27707. This community has a 1 - 2 bedroom, 1 - 2 bathroom. Nearby cities include Chapel Hill, Carrboro, Morrisville, Hillsborough, and Cary. 27713, 27705, 27701, 27517, and 27706 are nearby zip codes.

  • Price

  • Sq. Ft.

  • Availability

  • Model

MOVE-IN SPECIAL

Beech Lake

Provided by Property Management

Management Photos (5)

  • (Manager photo uploaded on 12/05/2016) Image of Beech Lake in Durham, NC
  • (Manager photo uploaded on 12/05/2016) Image of Beech Lake in Durham, NC
  • (Manager photo uploaded on 12/05/2016) Image of Beech Lake in Durham, NC
  • (Manager photo uploaded on 12/05/2016) Image of Beech Lake in Durham, NC
  • (Manager photo uploaded on 12/05/2016) Image of Beech Lake in Durham, NC

Provided by Other Residents

Resident Photos (4)

  • (Resident photo uploaded on 06/25/2009) Image of Beech Lake in Durham, NC
  • (Resident photo uploaded on 06/25/2009) Image of Beech Lake in Durham, NC
  • (Resident photo uploaded on 06/25/2009) Image of Beech Lake in Durham, NC
  • (Resident photo uploaded on 03/10/2008) Image of Beech Lake in Durham, NC
  Back To Top