What is epIQ?

Avana Matthews

2808 Cross Point Circle, Matthews, NC 28105
(228 Reviews)
$1,199 - $3,807/mo

Avana Matthews Reviews

(227)

3.6 rating

See Details

228 total reviews

(

Verified

)

Verified
Reviews with the Verified Badge are from residents or prospects surveyed directly from SatisFacts™ at the community, ensuring reviews are from real residents or prospects!

Sort:

  • Newest Activity
  • Recently Lived In
  • Review Rating
Review Author Icon

anonymous

Resident 2022

11/15/2022

Nightmare

I have been without a functioning fridge for 3 and 1/2 months with no end in sight. It is impossible to get a hold of anybody. The rest of the apartment was in pretty bad shape when I moved in as well, but the fridge thing is long past the point of absurdity. One of the pools is closed year-round it seems, despite them advertising two. They are more concerned with people in the neighborhood vaping than they are about the syringes I've found in the dog park, people grilling on their small wooden patios, dead animals in the walls or vents, and a myriad of other issues I don't feel like typing up. They bait you with a nice model apartment, and then once you've moved in you're entirely neglected.

    Manager

    11/30/2022

    Sardis Place at Matthews by Cortland
    Hi there, We sincerely regret to hear that your experience has not been the one we strive to provide for all of our residents. We understand that our service team worked to resolve the issue with your fridge and has since replaced the appliance. We will be renovating our second pool area this spring as well. We would greatly appreciate an opportunity to speak with you in regards to the other concerns you cited in your review. Could you please reach out to our team at sardisplace@cortland.com at your soonest convenience? We look forward to learning more about your experience and working to turn it around into a more positive one. Sincerely, Your Sardis Place team
    Review Author Icon

    Gidiely_B

    prospectiveVisited 2022

    2/25/2022

    A poor service! I've never seen so much disrespect! They just don't attend us. We had our application denied by their fault and they refused to refund our application fee, but even the administration fee (wich is clearly wrote "REFUNDABLE FEE" in every paper we got) they sent a check missing money and I have ways to prove this, even because the manager said this is wrong. I'm so tired of having to subject myself and my family through so much disrespect and having to beg for the minimum: answers and rightfully our money.

      Review Author Icon

      Bbrittanie

      Resident 2021 - 2022

      1/20/2022

      This place is so raggedy. Lately they have I guess partnered with a. Towing agency and they’re going round putting threats on peoples cars telling them they need to update tags, move cars, etc. people who LIVE here. Last I checked towing companies do not go into peoples private residences threatening g to tow their vehicles. Just because people can’t afford to have own property doesn’t mean they don’t deserve the same privacy as someone with their home. You can tow peoples cars, but can’t fix the smoking issues. You can tow peoples cars but not give their homes door stoppers, ventilation for bathrooms, proper heating and cooling, or proper water functions. Don’t live here. I’ve lived in hoods that take better care of their residents better than this dump.

        Review Author Icon

        Johni16

        Resident 2020 - 2021

        5/3/2021

        I woke up today to find my car was towed. First I was not in a parking spot but I was also NOT parked in a no parking zone. The parking here is ridiculous  and people park all types of ways, so I was shocked to see my car being towed. There was no notification so I had to call the police ( I thought it was stolen) . The police informed me it had been towed. The reason I'm disappointed in the complex is because I have raised parking concerns before due to limited parking.  As a paying  resident I would have expected a notice on my car as a warning, a courtesy call, something.  I expected to at  least be given the same courtesy as the abandoned vehicles taking up the spaces. There's commercial vehicles,  damaged vehicles, etc taking up spots  making it difficult for the people who actually live here. I have raised concerns about the parking, and was silenced. We have a community board but your comments have to be approved so my comment suggesting reserved parking was denied!. The apartment as in the inside of my home I love. As a business the management is… See More>
          Review Author Icon

          Marsha_L603

          Resident 2020

          3/31/2020

          I have been calling and emailing the office and even have called the corporate office regarding my rent, I was laid off from both of my jobs two weeks ago, And as of right now the ADA says our office has to continue to be closed through April 30th. I know I am not the only one laid off but as you know when you get behind in rent that will be hard to get caught up. You cant ignore the resident's calls and emails, that is unprofessional. Originally the office said Corporate would be contacting me, I finally got someone on the phone at Corporate and they tell me that they have nothing to do what that, that only my community manager can help me. I feel I am getting the run around and would like to get some answers. If anything they could create a newsletter stating what the plan would be for those of us who have been laid off from our jobs due to COVID-19. The office has shut off any contact with residents which is not good for those of us who have questions or concerns. I felt this would be the only way I… See More>
            Review Author Icon

            Champs123

            Resident 2020

            2/18/2020

            I'm usually a go with the flow type of person.. I don't complain I try to just deal with issues until my lease is up I've dealt with stuff breaking down since I've been here.. The building is old so it don't matter how much renovation you do Inside if you don't take care of the outside it's still going to look run down.. The stairway is always dirty and among other things but I just roll with it.. but I draw the line when I come home and hear noises just to find out I got mice living with me... Don't MOVE HERE if you paying more than a 1000 on rent every month you shouldn't have to live with mice... I'm used to staying in a community where I come home and see a note in my door saying pest control will be here this date make sure everything is up and out the way since I been here never came home to that.. Now I got mouse traps in my apartment to catch a mouse I thought but of course to my surprise it's more than one mouse I have caught SMH.... like I said you shouldn't… See More>
              Review Author Icon

              Resident 706840

              Verified Resident 2018 - 2019

              10/15/2019

              I've lived in multiple apartment communities in the area and Cortland is by far the best. They have excellent communication with tenants and go above and beyond with satisfaction in every aspect. I highly recommend this property.

                Review Author Icon

                Resident 701622

                Verified Resident 2014 - 2019

                10/1/2019

                the Pool wasnt keep clean this past summer. Other complexes clean the pool every day as they should with all of the germs plus there were days when the pool was closed with no notification. Also the water shut off days were a huge inconvenience but have gotten a lot less frequent. I work from a lot so this is a major issue for me.

                  Manager

                  10/6/2019

                  Sardis Place at Matthews by Cortland
                  Hi neighbor, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your time at Sardis Place. I regret to hear that you have had these concerns lately. While our back pool was closed for maintenance for a part of the summer, we do have two pools. The front pool was open and available for our residents all summer. We clean these pools 5 days a week, Monday through Friday, but if you see at any time that it needs another cleaning, we'd be happy to do so! I do apologize for the water shut-offs. We've had two this year due to the city doing work on the water lines. We will continue to give advanced notice of work such as this whenever possible. I'd appreciate an opportunity to speak with you and see how else we can work to improve your time here. Could you please reach out to me at the office or at spencer.meachum@cortland.com? I look forward to hearing from you! -Spencer M., Community Manager
                  Review Author Icon

                  Resident 701543

                  Verified Resident 2019

                  10/1/2019

                  A good nice place to start a home has enough of people here, that if you have a need for help, questions or some kind of services there should be someone who would be able and willing to help you out in your situation no matter what the problem may be or check at the office, they are willing to help, and if they can't, maybe they can send you in the right direction for help.

                    Review Author Icon

                    Resident 700761

                    Verified Resident 2019

                    9/29/2019

                    Our air conditioner is loud and outdated. You cant hear anything when its on. The solution: put cardboard in the vent to keep it from vibrating. Bugs are everywhere and theres a rat that lives right outside. There has been 2 attempted break ins of our apartment. We requested to move, and have heard nothing from the office, but they are quick to point out a violation. Its terrible. We cant wait to move out.

                      Manager

                      10/2/2019

                      Sardis Place at Matthews by Cortland
                      Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback on your air conditioning. I am disappointed to hear that it was not resolved previously. We want all of our residents to be as comfortable in their homes as possible, so I would be happy to have a member of our service team come by to inspect it again. We can also treat your home for any pest issues you are experiencing. Could you please reach out to me at spencer.meachum@cortland.com or stop by the office at your nearest convenience? I look forward to hearing from you! -Spencer M., Community Manager
                      Review Author Icon

                      Resident 699682

                      Verified Resident 2019

                      9/26/2019

                      At my community I am comfortable. My children are comfortable. I was looking at this apartment complex for a year before I came to visit the inside. The staff is kind and takes good care of the community.

                        Review Author Icon

                        Resident 699675

                        Verified Resident 2019

                        9/26/2019

                        Maintenance is quick to responding to issues. I dont like how our neighbors put their trash by our trash box and neighbors not being responsible for picking up their dog poop in our front lawn. Other than that neighborhood is quiet and safe to walk around. Staff is friendly

                          Review Author Icon

                          Resident 693996

                          Verified Resident 2018 - 2019

                          9/12/2019

                          My car was broken into a month ago. The tags were stolen off my car when I first moved here In 2018. The upkeep of the area is poor in general, the appearance of the outside of the apartments looks nothing like the inside. Everything except my washer and dryer has given me problems in this apartment from rats and snakes to holes in the patio and a wrongly assembled garbage disposal. I wouldnt recommend anyone I know to live here plus the staff is rude.

                            Manager

                            9/13/2019

                            Sardis Place at Matthews by Cortland
                            Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this feedback. I am disappointed to hear that you have experienced these issues in our community. We have pest control in our community that perform preventative treatments on the exterior of our buildings as well as on the interior as we receive requests by our residents. If you are noticing any pests in your home or around it, please submit a service ticket or reach out to us so we can spring into action. I would greatly appreciate an opportunity to speak with you regarding these concerns and work to resolve them for you. Please reach out to me at spencer.meachum@cortland.com or stop by the office at your nearest convenience. -Spencer M., Community Manager
                            Review Author Icon

                            Resident 675450

                            Verified Resident 2019

                            10/11/2019

                            I enjoy living here its peaceful and the community is quiet. The service being done on the apartment when needed is very on point. I have recommended these apartments to many of my friends intending to move.

                              Review Author Icon

                              Resident 672957

                              Verified Resident 2019

                              8/3/2019

                              Its been a good experience. Some past maintenance requests have taken weeks to be resolved and many inquiries. But, the most recent experience was excellent. So, I take it that improvements are being made. Keep it up!

                                Review Author Icon

                                anonymous

                                Resident 2019

                                7/24/2019

                                Having been a resident here for several years I noticed the office personnel are the worst when it comes to customer service and basic respect of residence/potential residence . The office "manager " Emily Mayhew lacks basic professionalism and thinks being tough earns you respect . I chose not to renew my lease because of this indiividual. Definitely not qualified for the job !!

                                  Manager

                                  7/25/2019

                                  Sardis Place at Matthews by Cortland
                                  Hello, We are sorry to hear that you have not been pleased with recent interactions with any members of our team. We always try to be as professional and courteous as possible. We recognize that sometimes disagreements with the office can be frustrating, but we must be consistent with our enforcement of rules and policies. If you have had an experience that you feel did not apply to the enforcement of our community rules or the terms of your lease, or where an associate was unprofessional, please feel free to contact me directly at spencer.meachum@cortland.com to discuss the experience in more detail. I look forward to hearing from you and hope to turn your experience around soon! - Spencer M., Community Manager
                                  Review Author Icon

                                  Resident 668893

                                  Verified Resident 2019

                                  7/24/2019

                                  Over all experience at Sardis place has been pretty good. The service team is great and works really hard. We like the pool area. We enjoy the pizza and wine nights and pet amenities. On the down side we get a lot of pests inside of the home and the traffic on the main road can be really bad.

                                    Manager

                                    8/23/2019

                                    Sardis Place at Matthews by Cortland
                                    Hello! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! I'm very happy to hear that you've had great experiences with our service team. We do offer pest control here and would be happy to treat your home for any unwanted guests you may be experiencing. Please feel free to put in a service ticket for this or reach out to us at sardisplace@cortland.com at your nearest convenience. -Your Sardis Place Team
                                    Review Author Icon

                                    Resident 666403

                                    Verified Resident 2019

                                    7/18/2019

                                    Maintenance was rude. Bugs. Community there is no community events or getting to know anyone. They are not accommodating to people who want to leave. Make you do thirty days in loving conditions of sub par.

                                      Manager

                                      7/19/2019

                                      Sardis Place at Matthews by Cortland
                                      Hello, We are very disappointed to hear that you are having issues with pests in your home. I can definitely understand the frustrations this would cause and would be happy to get your home treated as soon as possible. Our service team is trained in pest control and available to inspect and treat our residents' homes at any time. All our residents have to do is put in a service ticket. All residents are responsible for putting in a notice to vacate prior to moving out. This is included in all leases and is disclosed by our leasing agents during the application process. Please feel free to stop by the office or email me directly at spencer.meachum@cortland.com so we can get the process of turning your experience around started. I look forward to hearing from you! Spencer M., Community Manager
                                      Review Author Icon

                                      Resident 661346

                                      Verified Resident 2017 - 2019

                                      7/7/2019

                                      In my Community the people are friendly and clam. The new administration is excellent always helping the residents and giving immediate solutions; I think they ask 201 characters is too much, if one is happy and satisfied is not necessary to put a speech of thanks

                                        Review Author Icon

                                        Resident 659469

                                        Verified Resident 2017 - 2019

                                        7/2/2019

                                        The office team needs to be changed out as well as the manager for the maintenance. Ive been living here for almost 2 months called over 20 times and my A/C is till not working like it should. I keep calling and saying there is a problem but all they do is send out somebody telling me that the readings are right. It gets up to 80 and doesnt cool down till 3am and Im running 5 fans 24/7. I have a 7 month baby that is starting to teeth so getting him to sleep in such heat is challenging. I feel like the office or maintenance doesnt seem to not care about my predicament because Ive never had a follow up call for any of the times they came to try to fix the A/C. I have sent emails to the manager and still nothing has bee done to correct this. Sardis place apartments is a lost cause

                                          Manager

                                          7/2/2019

                                          Sardis Place at Matthews by Cortland
                                          Hello, We regret to hear that you are experiencing these issues. We take AC issues very seriously, especially in the summer heat. Since this was brought to our attention, we have replaced the entire unit and the thermostat. We have also recalibrated the duct work in your home. During this work, we provided portable AC units and fans as well for your comfort. However, I'd be happy to have another member of our service team come out to inspect it again for you if you are still unsatisfied. If you require anything else, please feel free to reach out to me directly at spencer.meachum@cortland.com or by stopping by the office. -Spencer M., Community Manager
                                          Review Author Icon

                                          Resident 658418

                                          Verified Resident 2018 - 2019

                                          6/29/2019

                                          Big problem with animal waste around the apartment grounds. First floor apartment has major issues with roaches and other insects. Appartments could use more updating especially for what the rate of rent being charged. Haven't had any safety issues while here. Friendly neighbors.

                                            Manager

                                            7/9/2019

                                            Sardis Place at Matthews by Cortland
                                            Hi neighbor, Thanks for taking the time to let us know how we're doing! I regret to hear that you've been having these issues and would like to address them for you. We are a pet friendly community and love our residents' furry friends. However, we do have rules in place around picking up after your pet. Residents are expected to pick up after them and to dispose of the bags properly in one of our many doggy stations placed throughout the community. If you witness a resident not following this rule, please let us know and we can speak with them. Our service team actively patrols the community to ensure that the grounds are clean of debris as well. If there's a specific area that is being missed, we can increase focus on it and pick it up. Our service team is also highly experienced in pest control and backed by licensed entomologists. In addition to routine external treatments, we can also apply treatments to the interior of your homes. All you have to do is put in a service ticket. We'd love to speak with you and turn your experience around. Please reach out to us sardisplace@cortland.com or stop by the office at your nearest convenience. Have a great week! -Your Team at Sardis Place
                                            Review Author Icon

                                            Resident 654770

                                            Verified Resident 2019

                                            6/20/2019

                                            It has been good. The only minor issue is maintenance does not respond quickly at all times. I get it though. There are a lot of people and apartments here. Other than that I have been very happy during my time here.

                                              Manager

                                              7/9/2019

                                              Sardis Place at Matthews by Cortland
                                              Hi neighbor, Thanks for leaving us your feedback! I'm disappointed to hear that some of your service requests have taken longer than expected. Our service team works very hard to complete all requests within the 48 hour guarantee, but in some instances we may have to work with a vendor or order a special part, which can take longer. Please let us know next time this occurs and we would be happy to look into it for you. You can reach us at sardisplace@cortland.com or at the office. Have a great day! -Your Sardis Place Team
                                              Review Author Icon

                                              Resident 640247

                                              Verified Resident 2018 - 2019

                                              5/14/2019

                                              Its being a great experience living here. I like the way everythi g looks and the services, i would totally recommend it to anyone. Thanks fpr keeping everything clean and beautiful and staff is awesome.

                                                Review Author Icon

                                                Resident 638323

                                                Verified Resident 2019

                                                5/10/2019

                                                I have enjoyed living here. I continue to tell co-workers about the new upgrades etc.. I love that it is very quiet and peaceful here. We have all the amenities that you need and is located right outside of uptown Charlotte

                                                  Review Author Icon

                                                  Resident 631992

                                                  Verified Resident 2018 - 2019

                                                  4/27/2019

                                                  Friendly environment with cool amenities. Really convenient to pretty much everything in the Matthews area. Minutes from uptown, and even downtown Matthews. Very good office staff, as well as the service crew.

                                                    Floor Plans & Pricing

                                                    1 Bedroom

                                                    A1

                                                    1 Bed, 1 Bath | 724 sq. ft.

                                                    $1,199 - $2,860

                                                    5 Available Units

                                                    See Floor Plan Details

                                                    A2

                                                    1 Bed, 1 Bath | 796 sq. ft.

                                                    $1,245 - $2,915

                                                    5 Available Units

                                                    See Floor Plan Details

                                                    2 Bedrooms

                                                    B2

                                                    2 Beds, 2 Baths | 1,095 sq. ft.

                                                    $1,545 - $3,807

                                                    5 Available Units

                                                    See Floor Plan Details

                                                    Disclaimer: Special, prices and availabilities subject to change.

                                                    epIQ Ratings

                                                    What is epIQ?

                                                    The epIQ Index gives you an accurate and authentic understanding of what life at a community is like prior to signing a lease, using a familiar letter grade & report card format.

                                                    epIQ Report Card

                                                    In partnership with SatisFacts™

                                                    Community epIQ Grade

                                                    N/A
                                                    N/A

                                                    Renter Ratings

                                                    N/A

                                                    Review Ratings

                                                    Noise

                                                    0.0

                                                    Grounds

                                                    0.0

                                                    Safety

                                                    0.0

                                                    Office Staff

                                                    0.0

                                                    Maintenance

                                                    0.0

                                                    Neighborhood

                                                    0.0

                                                    Survey Ratings

                                                    SatisFacts™ Tour Survey

                                                    SatisFacts™ Move-In Survey

                                                    SatisFacts™ Maintenance Survey

                                                    SatisFacts™ Renewal Survey

                                                    Review Count

                                                    N/A

                                                    Number of reviews in the past 365 days

                                                    N/A

                                                    Manager’s Review Engagement

                                                    N/A

                                                    Percentage of reviews responded to

                                                    N/A

                                                    Manager’s Review Reply Time

                                                    N/A

                                                    Average time to respond to reviews

                                                    N/A

                                                    View Community Timeline
                                                    View Community Timeline

                                                    Features & Amenities

                                                    Laundry
                                                    • Washer/Dryer
                                                    Pets
                                                    • Cats Allowed
                                                      Pet Limit: 2
                                                      Less Info
                                                      More Info
                                                    • Dogs Allowed
                                                      Restrictions: No aggressive breeds.. Pet Limit: 2
                                                      Less Info
                                                      More Info
                                                    • Animal type not listed Allowed
                                                    Other
                                                    • Additional Storage
                                                    • Air Conditioner
                                                    • BBQ and Picnic Area
                                                    • Balcony or Patio
                                                    • Bark Parks
                                                    • Black Appliances
                                                    • Bluetooth Integrated Kitchen Lighting
                                                    • Business Center
                                                    • Ceiling Fans in Bedrooms and Living Room
                                                    • Clubhouse
                                                    • Fireplace
                                                    • Fitness Center
                                                    • Granite Countertops and Tiled Backsplash
                                                    • Group Exercise Classes
                                                    • Hardwood Flooring
                                                    • Heat
                                                    • On-Site Maintenance
                                                    • Package Receiving Service
                                                    • Picnic Area with Pavilion
                                                    • Pool
                                                    • Poolside Kitchen
                                                    • Refrigerator
                                                    • Resident Lounge
                                                    • Smart Home Thermostat
                                                    • Smoke Free
                                                    • Spacious Closet
                                                    • Sunrooms
                                                    • TV Lounge
                                                    • Undermounted Kitchen Sinks with Gooseneck Faucet
                                                    • Volleyball Court
                                                    • Walk In Closets
                                                    Show Less
                                                    Show More

                                                    Leasing

                                                    Located minutes away from Uptown Charlotte, Plaza Midwood, and Downtown Matthews, our Cortland community offers a world of opportunity just outside the heart of the city. Designer features like granite countertops and cozy fireplaces will make you proud to call any of our one, two, and three-bedroom apartments home. A quick commute to major employers like Keffer and Tesla makes your everyday routine a breeze. And when you re considering your weekend plans, you have plenty of options nearby. Treat yourself to some retail therapy at Galleria Shopping Center, or drive into Uptown Charlotte to explore all its local dining and entertainment spots. No matter what your day looks like, you ll come home to the hospitality and service of a team dedicated to you.
                                                    Show Less

                                                    Office Hours

                                                    • Sunday: Closed
                                                    • Monday: Closed
                                                    • Tuesday - Friday: 10:00 AM - 06:00 PM
                                                    • Saturday: 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
                                                    This community is managed by

                                                    Greystar

                                                    A-
                                                    A-
                                                    Communities
                                                    3423

                                                    Questions & Answers (0)

                                                    Frequently Asked

                                                    Greystar
                                                    Cats Allowed
                                                    Pet Limit: 2
                                                    Dogs Allowed
                                                    Restrictions: No aggressive breeds.
                                                    Pet Limit: 2
                                                    Animal type not listed Allowed
                                                    1 Bed, 1 Bath
                                                    2 Beds, 1 Bath
                                                    2 Beds, 2 Baths
                                                    3 Beds, 2 Baths

                                                    Contact Property

                                                    June 2024

                                                    Sun
                                                    Mon
                                                    Tue
                                                    Wed
                                                    Thu
                                                    Fri
                                                    Sat
                                                    1
                                                    2
                                                    3
                                                    4
                                                    5
                                                    6
                                                    7
                                                    8
                                                    9
                                                    10
                                                    11
                                                    12
                                                    13
                                                    14
                                                    15
                                                    16
                                                    17
                                                    18
                                                    19
                                                    20
                                                    21
                                                    22
                                                    23
                                                    24
                                                    25
                                                    26
                                                    27
                                                    28
                                                    29
                                                    Beds

                                                    0

                                                    Baths

                                                    0

                                                    Avana Matthews is a 724 - 1,252 sq. ft. apartment in Matthews in zip code 28105. This community has a 1 - 3 Beds, 1 - 2 Baths, and is for rent for $1,199 - $3,807. Nearby cities include Indian Trail, Charlotte, Pineville, Monroe, and Charlotteq.

                                                    Your privacy and identity are important to us. Please review the Terms and Guidelines before sharing private or non-public information with matches.