The Commons at Canal Winchester
#8,237 #5 #173

What is epIQ?

The Commons at Canal Winchester

6300 Refuge Road, Canal Winchester, OH 43110
(222 Reviews)
$1,000 - $2,570/mo

The Commons at Canal Winchester Reviews

(175)

3.2 rating

See Details

222 total reviews

(

Verified

)

Verified
Reviews with the Verified Badge are from residents or prospects surveyed directly from SatisFacts™ at the community, ensuring reviews are from real residents or prospects!

Sort:

  • Newest Activity
  • Recently Lived In
  • Review Rating
Review Author Icon

Resident 1253639

Verified Resident 2023 - 2024

5/28/2024

When I first moved in the apartment it was pretty nice, I like the way it was set up. but unfortunately the interior was not the same like the the lady told me when I toured a different apartment. Mine wasn't ready to be toured so she showed me the motto one she said it's not the same set up but it has the same interior like the color of cabinets and flooring and stuff.. but it was not.. so I wasn't as happy about that.. also when I did move in there was a strange smell that we had to deal with for awhile even after getting smell goods you could still smell it when walking in.. also behind my dishwasher wasn't cleaned out properly there was still dirt dust and trash I'm guessing from the people before and the counters could've definitely been wiped down better as well, along with the window and blinds just dusty and was yellow around the windows due to smoke ! Then on top of that a couple weeks after living here.. we started seeing roaches !! And that was the end of it ! I was trying to get us moved asap… See More>
    Manager

    5/30/2024

    The Commons at Canal Winchester
    Hello, thank you for sharing this feedback with us and we regret to hear that you had a poor experience with us. We would like to discuss these issues further, please call us at your earliest convenience. Thank you
    Review Author Icon

    Alivia_b

    Resident 2024

    4/27/2024

    DONT MOVE HERE

    If I could leave 0 stars, I would. I regret making the decision to move into this community and I've only been here going onto 3 months. During my tour, I addressed my concern of prior pest problems and the leading agent, Trinity, said that the problem belonged to the last company that owned the property. The first time I seen a roach was at 3am in my bathtub, the morning after I contacted the director of the company... nothing was changed, I wanted to break my lease at that moment after only being at the apartment for a week. They wouldn't let me out of the lease since they didn't believe me. Recently, I seen a baby roach on my kitchen counter and I rushed to take a picture so they wouldn't try to pretend like that's not what I seen. Don't let this company lie to you, I am counting down the days to the end of my lease. When I received my keys, I never ever did a walk through with the manger to keep documentation of the damage that was done to the apartment already. I BETTER RECIEVE MY ENTIRE SECURITY DEPOSIT BACK TOO. Don't make… See More>
      Manager

      4/28/2024

      The Commons at Canal Winchester
      Hello, thank you for sharing this feedback with us and we regret to hear that you had a poor experience with us. We would like to discuss these issues further, please give us a call at your earliest convenience. We would like the opportunity to address your concerns. Please reach out to us directly at (833) 904-4208 when you have a chance. Thank you, and we look forward to hearing from you.

      Updated Review

      Review Author Icon

      Resident 815856

      Verified Resident 2018 - 2024

      3/26/2024

      It's been my home for almost 7 years there's been a few things that have been confusing. When I moved in my rent was a $1000, now it's almost $1700 retention obviously is not the goal. Overall maintenance request are completed.

        Manager

        3/28/2024

        The Commons at Canal Winchester
        Hello, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us this feedback. We would like the opportunity to address your concerns. Please reach out to us directly at (833) 904-4208 when you have a chance. Thank you, and we look forward to hearing from you.
        Review Author Icon

        Resident 1222557

        Verified Resident 2011 - 2024

        2/2/2024

        It was fine when I first moved in. Over the years it has been ups and downs with rent increase. Fees for trash service etc. I hope the property owners considering the jobs are not paying enough for high rent plus other bills expenses ppl have!

          Review Author Icon

          Resident 1100868

          Verified Resident 2023 - 2024

          1/28/2024

          Very nice staff, friendly to talk with and nice atmosphere, plus the neighbors are nice. No problems with anything that haven't been addressed. Good place to live. There's nothing more I can say at this present time.

            Manager

            1/30/2024

            The Commons at Canal Winchester
            Hi, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us; we appreciate your feedback! If you have any further questions, comments, or concerns please don't hesitate to reach out!

            Updated Review

            Review Author Icon

            Resident 1104336

            Verified Resident 2022 - 2024

            1/23/2024

            I haven't had and problems anytime I've needed maintenance I've never had to wait days they have always come the same day. The staff is very nice and helpful there doing better with keeping complex clean

              Manager

              1/25/2024

              The Commons at Canal Winchester
              Hi, providing high quality service is of the upmost importance to us, thank you for sharing your positive experience! If you have any further questions, comments, or concerns please don't hesitate to reach out!
              Review Author Icon

              Resident 1218546

              Verified Resident 2023 - 2024

              1/19/2024

              Being that I haven't live in an apartment in almost 37 years, I like the spaciousness of my apartment. The only negative thing to say is that when you're between 2 apartments. one above and one below you hear kids running above you and music playing below you. Plus you get an aroma of Marijuana in your apartment from the other apartments that you can't pinpoint which one it is. I think the cabinets should be upgraded instead of painted. The decks need to be painted. Maintenance and your staff is great Other than those things mentioned I'm enjoying my stay. Thank you!

              Manager

              1/20/2024

              The Commons at Canal Winchester
              Hello, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us; we appreciate your feedback! If you have any further questions, comments, or concerns please don't hesitate to reach out!
              Review Author Icon

              Resident 1215296

              Verified Resident 2010 - 2024

              1/8/2024

              I WISH I COULD PICK UP AND MOVE TODAY. IT HAVE NOT HAD THE BEST EXPERIENCE BEING A TENANT. TIME ARE JUST HARD AND I HAD TO BARE WITH THIS LIVING COMMUNITY .. I WISH THEY VALUED THE TENATS THAT HAVE BEEN THEIR THIS LONG, BUT THEY DONT.

                Manager

                1/9/2024

                The Commons at Canal Winchester
                Hi, thank you for sharing this feedback with us and we regret to hear that you had a poor experience with us. We would like to discuss these issues further, please give us a call at your earliest convenience. Thank you

                Updated Review

                Review Author Icon

                Resident 573192

                Verified Resident 2020 - 2024

                1/5/2024

                It's been ok. I've lived all around this country. Management here is adequate but not stellar. I do especially like the quiet and upkeep of the grounds. That's mostly why I've stayed. Response time is also generally ok.

                  Manager

                  1/7/2024

                  The Commons at Canal Winchester
                  Hello, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us; we appreciate your feedback! If you have any further questions, comments, or concerns please don't hesitate to reach out!

                  Updated Review

                  Review Author Icon

                  Resident 713833

                  Verified Resident 2016 - 2023

                  11/3/2023

                  Never had a personal issue with staff or maintenance! However I've noticed that it's looking trashy, dirty, unkept exterior, More and more kids and people are moving in with BUGS!!!' I have seen a total change as to the type of people moving in! Kids everywhere not respecting the community! It needs total exterior upgrade ! For the high rent that being charged it could and should be way better!

                    Manager

                    11/5/2023

                    The Commons at Canal Winchester
                    Hello, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us; we appreciate your feedback! If you have any further questions, comments, or concerns please don't hesitate to reach out!
                    Review Author Icon

                    Resident 1193965

                    Verified Resident 2021 - 2023

                    10/28/2023

                    The price has went up but the quality has went down. Car has been broken into can never find security. Trash used to have a set schedule, some days trash isn't picked up. The only bright side is the maintenance team.

                      Manager

                      10/30/2023

                      The Commons at Canal Winchester
                      Hi, thank you for sharing this feedback with us and we regret to hear that you had a poor experience with us. We would like to discuss these issues further, please give us a call at (833) 904-4208 at your earliest convenience. Thank you
                      Review Author Icon

                      Resident 1192933

                      Verified Resident 2023

                      10/25/2023

                      The management thus far has been wonderful in communicating. But there are a few safely factors that I have addressed that have not been resolved. There are many unauthorized vehicles parking in the parking lot which forces me to have to park in the guest parking, which, is not only unsatisfactory but also a safety issue The people that are not on a lease are not vetted, so we don't know who is consistently parking and or staying within the community. Such as violent criminals or child predators. And that's very concerning to me. I was instructed through my correspondence with a member of management that I could call a towing company if the problem continues and I did so the other night and was informed through the towing company that they did not have a contract with our community, and there was nothing that they could do. The other issue that is a rising from this is that there is constantly glass beer bottles, and other glass objects along with trash in the parking lot which is a hazard to myself, my pet and my child. And a hazard to my vehicle as well. I ran over a glass… See More>

                        Updated Review

                        Review Author Icon

                        Resident 971787

                        Verified Resident 2020 - 2023

                        10/22/2023

                        We moved into our apartment about 3 years ago. Overall, we have enjoyed it, especially when we first moved in. A lot of comments that we first read when deciding to move in described how it was impossible to get maintenance assistance. Since we have moved in, it seems as if they are under new management. We haven't had any issues getting them to come out and fix things within a timely manner. We also have trash valet, which is nice living on the 3rd floor. I like that they are pet friendly and have an in unit washer, dryer, and dishwasher. This past year has not been the greatest. Our new downstairs neighbor has a dog he keeps chained up outside for all hours of the day and night. It barks incessantly. We've sent in numerous complaints to the leasing office and we get replies to "contact the humane society" instead of doing anything. He also blasts his video games until about 2am. We also have teenagers that like to loiter in the stairwell and be extremely loud, vandalize the property, and leave trash everywhere. They're constantly in the way when trying to go… See More>

                          Updated Review

                          Review Author Icon

                          Resident 910210

                          Verified Resident 2021 - 2023

                          9/15/2023

                          PROS: My actual townhome space is great! It has everything I want - hard floors, fireplace, garage, washer/dryer, 2 BR/2.5 Bath, and an amazing patio space. Fairly priced. CONS: I just wish I could pick it up and go somewhere else. Complaints to the office aren't addressed. Office phones aren't answered. The pool closes yearly due to vandalism. Trash removal is commonly missed - but still required to pay for it. I'm still waiting on maintenance requests to be done from 2021. Sirens are heard 24/7, as well as neighbors. July 4th is a bit scary - fireworks or something else? (stay inside).

                            Review Author Icon

                            Resident 1164718

                            Verified Resident 2021 - 2023

                            7/30/2023

                            It has been a pretty good experience living here. You do fix stuff quickly, but some of the neighbors are horrible. Especially the ones that live upstairs frother than that I had no problems Parking can get back from time to time.

                              Manager

                              9/19/2023

                              The Commons at Canal Winchester
                              Hello, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us; we appreciate your feedback! If you have any further questions, comments, or concerns please don't hesitate to reach out!
                              Review Author Icon

                              Resident 1143452

                              Verified Resident 2022 - 2023

                              5/23/2023

                              Overall the community is pleasant. I am not too happy with the office and lack of communication and follow through. I requested a garage upon move in. I was told they were under renovation but would be first on the list to get one. When I followed up I was told they were never under renovation and I was again first on the list. I followed up again.. I was given a garage number and told it just needed to be cleared with the maintenance manager. Come to find I was never put down for that garage unit. After talking to the office 5 or 6 times about this I just gave up because nobody communicated and I was never followed up with. I have seen multiple new tenants getting garages since then. 6 months later- no garage or update.

                                Review Author Icon

                                Resident 1140617

                                Verified Resident 2022 - 2023

                                5/14/2023

                                I have not had a great experience living here once again. I lived in this same community 3 different times over the last 10 years on and off. The last two times I have stayed here there has been roaches. My grandma stayed here with infest of mice. Neighbors are disgusting and leave food on ground and and also thinks it's smart to smoke and grill food under a wooden stairs. It has been a terrible experience the pool closed most of the season the second time I stayed here because also neighbors ignorance. I wish I could leave my lease early I hate living there.

                                  Review Author Icon

                                  Resident 1137285

                                  Verified Resident 2022 - 2023

                                  5/4/2023

                                  My experience has been terrible. I honestly hate living here. I'm still waiting for things to be fixed from my very first day of moving in. You pay for valet trash but your trash sits by the door for days at a time. When something breaks or is not working in your apartment, it takes the maintenance months to repair it. If you're going to charge tenants the outrageous amount, please make sure it is worth living in. It should not take me reporting to BBB or reaching out several times to not live with roaches. If I wanted to share my living space with roaches, I would have went to a cheaper community.

                                    Review Author Icon

                                    Resident 1123176

                                    Verified Resident 2022 - 2023

                                    3/19/2023

                                    My experience at this apartment sucks. Before signing a lease I was told the rent is $1695, but last minute on the day I signed the lease I was told there is other fee that adds up my rent to $1720 and not only that on top of that there are other hidden fees that I did not know like water, trash..... that adds up my rent to $1800 which is terrible price for a rent in canal Winchester. The community is not safe. This year in 2023 thiefs stole the cataly converter from under my car. My electric bill is insanely high, we pay $400 to $550 a month just for electricity. I have reported that there is for sure something wrong with the heating system of the property that need to be fixed but nobody showed up to fix it. This place is a scam.

                                      Review Author Icon

                                      Resident 1121954

                                      Verified Resident 2021 - 2023

                                      3/15/2023

                                      First two units were infested with bugs. Finally got moved into a Nice apartment with no problems but the rent amount is outrageous for outdated units. I use to live here years ago and the unit I'm in went from 900-2k a month with minimum upgrades . Maintenance is respectful and always on time, management is a different story. I'd rate my my overall experience a 7/10.

                                        Updated Review

                                        Review Author Icon

                                        Resident 610934

                                        Verified Resident 2017 - 2023

                                        3/5/2023

                                        It used to be a pretty good area. The last couple of years, we have had tenants that were LOUD and there have been occasions when my vehicle was either hit or someone violated. Each renewal has been astronomical, with the last renewal being $300 + more than the rent the prior year with no offer of renewal accommodations (shampoo carpet, paint walls, etc. Rent renewal price not given in time to see if want renew or move somewhere else. It's given within the 60 days that they give you to decide if you want to stay or not.

                                          Review Author Icon

                                          Resident 1110695

                                          Verified Resident 2014 - 2023

                                          2/8/2023

                                          Since IRT acquired the property 5 or 6 years ago, the management has been that worst that I have ever experienced. In general, the office personnel always appear overwhelmed and disinterested in helping the residents. No one answers the phone anymore. You have to leave and message and hope that someone call you back. And generally, they don't respond to messages left in the resident portal. The computer program designed to handle monthly payments is so bad that on numerous occasions I've had to deliver checks to the office to pay my rent because no one in the office could get the mistakes corrected. In general the maintenance staff does an adequate job but there has been much turnover and not for the better.

                                            Review Author Icon

                                            Resident 1109310

                                            Verified Resident 2015 - 2023

                                            2/5/2023

                                            At the first five years was great, now we can't Wait to we pay double than when We moved in. The insulation is terrible and We pay over 400 dollars a month in electric. And you increase the rent every year. So as Other neighbors around us are doing looking So shall we, if the lord is willing.

                                              Updated Review

                                              Review Author Icon

                                              Resident 810603

                                              Verified Resident 2020 - 2023

                                              1/18/2023

                                              From the people sitting all over the steps doing drugs to the piles of dog feces all over the sidewalks and breezeway, we cannot wait to leave. No one is held accountable for serious lease violations here. People smoke in their apartment as well and you are forced to inhale those drugs which is disgusting. One of our neighbors had a huge fly/bug problem so then we did and the office didn't investigate why there was such a problem in their apartment. They leave trash everywhere outside all the time and don't follow trash rules. The office did nothing. You can hear pipes clicking and toilets flushing very loudly from your neighbors. One of the maintenance guys does not know what he's doing and had to try and fix our air conditioning 3 times last summer because he kept saying it was fixed even though it clearlyv wasn't and blamed it on user error even though we've been here longer than he has and never had a problem before last year. My car has been broken into at least 3 times from the parking lot here. Anyone can park anywhere without consequence of being towed even though the office… See More>

                                                Updated Review

                                                Review Author Icon

                                                Resident 463317

                                                Verified Resident 2018 - 2023

                                                1/15/2023

                                                I would rate my living experience at The Commons at Canal Winchester average to below average. It is not well run and upkeep is poor. The living experience does not align with the amount we pay. IMO.

                                                  Floor Plans & Pricing

                                                  1 Bedroom

                                                  Cambridge

                                                  1 Bed, 1 Bath | 752 sq. ft.

                                                  $1,000 - $1,530

                                                  2 Available Units

                                                  See Floor Plan Details

                                                  2 Bedrooms

                                                  Devonshire

                                                  2 Beds, 2 Baths | 970 sq. ft.

                                                  $1,245 - $2,020

                                                  3 Available Units

                                                  See Floor Plan Details

                                                  Normandy

                                                  2 Beds, 2 Baths | 992 sq. ft.

                                                  $1,320 - $2,030

                                                  3 Available Units

                                                  See Floor Plan Details

                                                  Disclaimer: Special, prices and availabilities subject to change.

                                                  epIQ Ratings

                                                  What is epIQ?

                                                  The epIQ Index gives you an accurate and authentic understanding of what life at a community is like prior to signing a lease, using a familiar letter grade & report card format.

                                                  epIQ Report Card

                                                  In partnership with SatisFacts™

                                                  Community epIQ Grade

                                                  B
                                                  B

                                                  Renter Ratings

                                                  B

                                                  Review Ratings

                                                  Noise

                                                  2.9

                                                  Grounds

                                                  2.9

                                                  Safety

                                                  2.3

                                                  Office Staff

                                                  3.3

                                                  Maintenance

                                                  4.1

                                                  Neighborhood

                                                  3.8

                                                  Survey Ratings

                                                  SatisFacts™ Tour Survey

                                                  SatisFacts™ Move-In Survey

                                                  SatisFacts™ Maintenance Survey

                                                  SatisFacts™ Renewal Survey

                                                  Review Count

                                                  B+

                                                  Number of reviews in the past 365 days

                                                  15

                                                  Manager’s Review Engagement

                                                  B

                                                  Percentage of reviews responded to

                                                  73.33%

                                                  Manager’s Review Reply Time

                                                  D

                                                  Average time to respond to reviews

                                                  63.93 days

                                                  View Community Timeline
                                                  View Community Timeline

                                                  Features & Amenities

                                                  Laundry
                                                  • Washer/Dryer
                                                  Parking
                                                  • Garage
                                                  Pets
                                                  • Animal type not listed Allowed
                                                  • Other Pets Allowed
                                                    Pet Limit: 2
                                                    Less Info
                                                    More Info
                                                  Other
                                                  • Breakfast Bar
                                                  • Business Center
                                                  • Clubhouse
                                                  • Disability Access
                                                  • Fireplace
                                                  • Fitness Center
                                                  • Hardwood Flooring
                                                  • High End Appliances
                                                  • Large Closets
                                                  • On-Site Management
                                                  • Outdoor Grilling and Picnic Area
                                                  • Package Receiving Service
                                                  • Pet Stations
                                                  • Pool
                                                  • Private Patio
                                                  • Renovated
                                                  • Short Term Lease Available
                                                  • Valet Trash Service
                                                  • View
                                                  Show Less
                                                  Show More

                                                  Leasing

                                                  Home is where your heart is prepare to fall in love with The Commons at Canal Winchester. This picturesque apartment community with easy access to downtown Columbus offers a variety of great amenities. Enjoy our shimmering swimming pool and sundeck, sensational on-site management and maintenance teams, and complimentary package receiving. We offer newly renovated apartments and townhomes complete with walk-in closets, stainless steel appliances and more. Ready to call The Commons at Canal Winchester home? Contact us today.
                                                  Show Less

                                                  Office Hours

                                                  • Sunday: Closed
                                                  • Monday: 09:00 AM - 06:00 PM
                                                  • Tuesday: 10:00 AM - 06:00 PM
                                                  • Wednesday: 09:00 AM - 06:00 PM
                                                  • Thursday: 10:00 AM - 06:00 PM
                                                  • Friday: 09:00 AM - 06:00 PM
                                                  • Saturday: 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
                                                  This community is managed by

                                                  IRT Management, LLC

                                                  B+
                                                  B+
                                                  Communities
                                                  109

                                                  Questions & Answers (0)

                                                  Frequently Asked

                                                  Based on 222 number of votes by renters, The Commons at Canal Winchester is currently rated 3.2 out of 5 stars.
                                                  The Commons at Canal Winchester is rated 2.9/5 stars in our renters grounds survey, which is considered poor. The grounds are in a state of disrepair and need immediate attention.
                                                  The Commons at Canal Winchester is rated 4.1/5 stars in our renters maintenance survey, which is considered good. The maintenance team is generally quick and efficient in fixing problems.
                                                  The Commons at Canal Winchester is rated 2.9/5 stars in our renters noise survey, which is considered poor. The noise level is consistently loud and disruptive, making it difficult to live in the complex.
                                                  The Commons at Canal Winchester is rated 2.3/5 stars in our renters safety survey, which is considered poor. The complex is very unsafe and poses serious risks to residents.
                                                  The Commons at Canal Winchester is rated 3.8/5 stars in our renters neighborhood survey, which is considered average. The complex is located in a neighborhood with some safety or desirability concerns, with limited access to local attractions and services.
                                                  The Commons at Canal Winchester is rated 3.3/5 stars in our renters staff survey, which is considered below average. The staff is often unresponsive and not fully helpful in addressing resident needs.
                                                  Managers have responded to 73.3333% of their community reviews in the past year.
                                                  Managers have replied within 63.93 days to their community reviews in the past year.
                                                  IRT Management, LLC
                                                  Animal type not listed Allowed
                                                  Other Pets Allowed
                                                  Pet Limit: 2
                                                  1 Bed, 1 Bath
                                                  2 Beds, 2 Baths
                                                  2 Beds, 2.5 Baths
                                                  3 Beds, 2 Baths
                                                  3 Beds, 3 Baths

                                                  Contact Property

                                                  The Commons at Canal Winchester

                                                  June 2024

                                                  Sun
                                                  Mon
                                                  Tue
                                                  Wed
                                                  Thu
                                                  Fri
                                                  Sat
                                                  1
                                                  2
                                                  3
                                                  4
                                                  5
                                                  6
                                                  7
                                                  8
                                                  9
                                                  10
                                                  11
                                                  12
                                                  13
                                                  14
                                                  15
                                                  16
                                                  17
                                                  18
                                                  19
                                                  20
                                                  21
                                                  22
                                                  23
                                                  24
                                                  25
                                                  26
                                                  27
                                                  28
                                                  29
                                                  Beds

                                                  0

                                                  Baths

                                                  0

                                                  The Commons at Canal Winchester is a 752 - 1,353 sq. ft. apartment in Canal Winchester in zip code 43110. This community has a 1 - 3 Beds, 1 - 3 Baths, and is for rent for $1,000 - $2,570. Nearby cities include Pickerington, Groveport, Reynoldsburg, Whitehall, and Bexley.

                                                  Your privacy and identity are important to us. Please review the Terms and Guidelines before sharing private or non-public information with matches.