#2,914 #20 #212

What is epIQ?

Windsong

4736 Windway Lane , Virginia Beach, VA 23455
(274 Reviews)
Review Quote Icon
"I like it and thank you it was a smooth and easy transition i will be recommending this pl" ...
$1,305 - $1,987/mo

Reviews

(243)

4 rating

See Details

274 total reviews

(

Verified

)

Verified
Reviews with the Verified Badge are from residents or prospects surveyed directly from SatisFacts™ at the community, ensuring reviews are from real residents or prospects!

Sort:

  • Newest Activity
  • Recently Lived In
  • Review Rating
Review Author Icon

Resident 229822

Verified Resident 2015 - 2017

10/7/2017

Nice residents and staff, grounds are maintained nicely, pet friendly. The only problem I have with this property is the price, the payment is never the same, for older residents on a fixed income it can become very unnerving. I was lead to believe when I signed the lease that water & sewage was included but that isn't the case, I also don't like the idea that I am forced to pay an extra $20.00 for a valet trash pickup that I don't Use! We should have been able to vote whether or not we the residents wanted this!

    Review Author Icon

    Resident 147532

    Verified Resident 2016

    4/11/2016

    I just moved in about a month ago, and so far this is the friendliest place I have lived in. The neighbors are nice, and the staff is always happy and cheerful. The apartment complex is always clean and maintenance is on top of everything. There are also tons of places to go to within walking distance (resaurant, shops, bars, etc).

      Review Author Icon

      Resident 226374

      Verified Resident 2012 - 2018

      5/30/2018

      It's nice out here. The people are nice and courteous. It's close to the beach and not too far from the interstate. My only complaint would be the washer and dryer situation but there laundromats nearby. Would recommend this community to anyone.

        Manager

        4/7/2016

        Windsong
        Thank you so much for taking the time to complete your survey and give us such wonderful accolades..... I am so pleased that we had the opportunity to support you as you pursued finding your new home and thrilled that you chose Windsong! Although I don't have any control over the addition of 3 bedroom units, I am committed to making Windsong the best possible community it can be and you, by your willingness to be a voice, are instrumental in helping us to do just that!
        Review Author Icon

        Resident 226018

        Verified Resident 2015 - 2016

        3/23/2016

        The office staff are courteous but maintenance requests take forever to be completed! And the service is subpar and not always completed 100%. The neighbors are loud and the hallway entry always smells! I would definitely not recommend this apartment!

          Manager

          5/4/2016

          Windsong
          Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your resident experience. We do take these reviews very seriously and have forwarded a copy of this to the onsite team. We have a brand new service manager that is committed to giving all the residents at Windsong speedy turn around time with great follow up. Please call us or email us at Marketing@Bonaventure.com so that we can set up a meeting with you and address all your concerns in detail. Looking forward to hearing from you soon!
          Review Author Icon

          Resident 225072

          Verified Resident 2016

          3/18/2016

          The property management made it extremely easy to facilitate the move in process. They kept in close contact with me, expressed excitement about my new place that matched my own, and are extremely pet friendly! They turned what I anticipated to be an extremely stressful event into a very smooth, easy process. That speaks volumes!

            Manager

            4/7/2016

            Windsong
            Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey AND for choosing Windsong as your new home......we are thrilled to have you. I am so pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations, but please know, I want you to expect excellent customer service when are answering any and all of your needs. Windsong is slated to have a very exciting year, with lots of exciting changes, and I invite and encourage you to continue to be an active participant in that process.
            Review Author Icon

            Resident 223951

            Verified Resident 2011 - 2016

            3/14/2016

            The staff is amazing! The neighbors could be better, but I have not had any major issues in regards to them that was not handled. I have nothing else to say. I just have to fill in the rest of the characters. Moose make great pets. Everyone needs one

              Manager

              4/7/2016

              Windsong
              LOL.......I never knew that Moose make great pets, but think I'll wait until I have a little bit more room before I give that a try! Thank you for your kind words about the staff and although I am certainly grateful for the 4 star rating, but as you become accustomed to our standards of customer service and satisfaction here at Windsong, anything shy of 5 stars is of great concern for me. Please reach out to me in the leasing center or call to schedule a time to come in and let me know what it is we can be doing better. I am truly interested and we are committed to excellence........all of the Windsong Team! Thank you for completing our survey and being willing to be an voice in the community....... I encourage you to continue and help us grow.
              Review Author Icon

              Resident 220169

              Verified Resident 2010 - 2016

              2/25/2016

              It's ok ... Not as clean as use to be and they allow dogs in these 1 bedroom apartments and rent increases often...the neighborhood has switch management several times.. The 1st management was the best ... The lady's in the office are nice tho

                Manager

                5/25/2016

                Windsong
                Thank you so much for your feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve your resident experience. We are currently putting in to place a task force that will be focused on cleaning the common areas and all the hallways. You should see a great improvement soon! If there is anything you can think of that need specific attention please email us at Marketing@Bonaventure.com Looking forward to hearing from you soon!
                Review Author Icon

                Resident 217837

                Verified Resident 2012 - 2016

                10/14/2016

                Great experience with the apartment, But replacing the AC units would be nice, because there insulation is not good at all, I can feel the cold wind coming thru during the winter season. which raises my electric bill just to keep from being cold.

                  Manager

                  4/7/2016

                  Windsong
                  Thank you so much for taking the time to complete our survey and recognizing how important it is to be a voice and to be candid...... together we can grow and improve. The location here at Windsong is beyond desirable......and we do have an abundance of greenspace and beautiful tree-lined streets, I enjoy it as much as you! We have taken your suggestions under advisement and will be starting on hallway rehabs next month and will make hallway cleanliness a priority. If your hallway or a neighbors'/friend's hallway needs attention, please submit a work order through your resident portal or give us a call in the leasing center......we do care!
                  Review Author Icon

                  Resident 217347

                  Verified Resident 2012 - 2016

                  2/12/2016

                  This is a safe and accusable area to all that I need. The service from the staff is excellent and quick. The grounds are kept nicely and the hallways are well lite. I would recommend painting the inside of the hallways. Maybe, a lighter color. .

                    Manager

                    4/7/2016

                    Windsong
                    Thank you so much for taking the time to complete our survey and also for being a voice...... a voice of support but also of constructive criticism.....that is how we grow and improve. We took your comments, along with others, and will be starting a hallway rehab program in May, that will include paint, drywall repair and shampooing/replacing carpet. Please bear with us as we work toward improvements all over the property and in the meantime, if your hallway needs cleaning or has an immediate need, please submit a work order through your resident portal or call the leasing center.....your satisfaction and sense of home, is our Number 1 goal!
                    Review Author Icon

                    Resident 217194

                    Verified Resident 2013 - 2016

                    2/11/2016

                    Love most of my neighbors but wish maintenance fixed things right the first time. And the hallways are messy but I know they are working to fix that now. The lights out side always burn out and it's hard to see when taking the dog out so I avoid down places

                      Manager

                      5/25/2016

                      Windsong
                      Thank you so much for the feedback! We do have a lot of motion activated lights on the property. We will be doing a light audit this month to make sure that all the lights are working properly. We want to make sure that we are doing everything we can to make sure that you have a wonderful resident experience. Please email us at Marketing@Bonaventure.com if there anything that you need! We would also be more than happy to set up a time for you to come to the office and sit down with the property manager. Thank you again, looking forward to hearing from you soon!
                      Review Author Icon

                      Resident 216804

                      Verified Resident 2015 - 2016

                      2/10/2016

                      Took 6 wks to repair. Mntnce let themselves into my home yelling YO Maintenance! Allowwd an outside company into my home unescorted qhen i wasnt there after specifically requesting i be present while repairs performed. Called front office and was read what chapter 23 and 37 state, which is, simply put, maintence can let themselves in any apartment if their Maintence Supervisor deems it necessary. Have to pay 4 months rent to move out early, only 4 months remain in my lease so i will be paying 2 rent payments and struggling. I am Completely disgusted with this place, My family's safety is priority, which clearly arent standards at Windsong Apartments. See Google for complete story.

                        Review Author Icon

                        Resident 216599

                        Verified Resident 2011 - 2016

                        3/18/2016

                        We've lived here for a few years love the maintenance team great guys who always go above and beyond...the neighbors all seem to get along ...but SECURITY and lighting are horrible...the overall appeal is good and everyone works together ... we like it here

                          Manager

                          3/18/2016

                          Windsong
                          Good Morning and thank you so much for the feedback! We are happy to report that we do have a new security company in place to start on April 1st. We want to make sure that you have the best resident experience possible and we take your review seriously. Thank you again and we do hope to see you at the next resident meeting!
                          Review Author Icon

                          Resident 214911

                          Verified Resident 2013 - 2016

                          2/11/2016

                          We like that it is close to the beach. Other than that there are not many positives. The common areas are dirty and need to be painted and updated. The rent goes up each year along with different fees added. The outside appearance is dull and dingy.

                            Review Author Icon

                            Resident 213487

                            Verified Resident 2015 - 2016

                            1/26/2016

                            Everything is great here, a few things need fixing ...lighting in the common area at entryway but all in all its been a great experience. I would recommend this area to my friends. Moved in in 2016. The staff here is extremely welcoming and helpful.

                              Manager

                              1/26/2016

                              Windsong
                              Thank you so much for your feedback! Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay better! Email us anytime at Marketing@Bonaventure.com Sincerely , Your Bonaventure Team
                              Review Author Icon

                              Resident 213036

                              Verified Resident 2013 - 2016

                              1/24/2016

                              Overall the apartment is very comfy and suits my needs. My biggest complaint is the noise. Being on the first floor, I expect noise from up above but my neighbors seem to forget that they are not in a house alone and play the TV or video games so they can be heard across the hall. Also, there is nothing for the young people to do so they just hang out or play ball in the street. And my biggest complaint is that people are allowed to smoke at the outside entrance or next to the buildings so if my windows are open, the smoke flows in. There should be a "smoking area" away from the building.

                                Review Author Icon

                                Resident 212901

                                Verified Resident 2015 - 2018

                                3/1/2018

                                My second time living at this complex , first time six years. Now three so far. Now too expensive .too many charges and very disappointed with maintenance. Months pass before hallway s get cleaned. Have to clean my own hallway.

                                  Manager

                                  4/7/2016

                                  Windsong
                                  Thank you, thank you, thank you! Your satisfaction and sense of home is the reason we do what we do......although I am thrilled that you are pleased and that we have met your expectations thus far, please participate in our resident meetings, provide us with feedback after any service we provide and help us to exceed your expectations and grow this community...... we can't do it without you!
                                  Review Author Icon

                                  Resident 211215

                                  Verified Resident 2015 - 2016

                                  10/12/2016

                                  These apartments are horrible. I only lived there for a year and regretted it everyday. The grass is full of fleas and the grounds are horrid. They went through 3 property managers in less than a year. This place is a mess. Don't don't live here

                                    Review Author Icon

                                    Resident 211040

                                    Verified Resident 2015 - 2017

                                    2/21/2017

                                    The people that live here are great. I can't believe that we have had 4 property managers in less then one year. The change in the office is over whelming. Thank goodness the maintenance staff has stayed in tact

                                      Manager

                                      4/7/2016

                                      Windsong
                                      Thank you for taking the time to enter your experience here at Windsong - as a resident here myself, I am like you, so appreciative of our location and our beautiful grounds! Please continue to be an active participant in the Windsong Community...... we value your feedback and want you to love your home.
                                      Review Author Icon

                                      anonymous

                                      Resident 2014 - 2015

                                      10/14/2015

                                      If you have pets, look to rent somewhere else. They charge a one time pet fee as well as monthly pet rent, which wouldn't be so terrible if they didn't ask for more money when you move out. The one time fee doesn't go towards carpet maintenance when you move out, they simply charge you more to clean the carpet. Total you'll be paying around 900-$1200/year for pets and you'll get another charge when you move out because the pet deposit literally goes to their paychecks, not towards the apartment. They will tell you that they have security that roam the apartments for resident safety, but you'll never see them; if you can catch them, they are parked in the lot paying on their phones. They recently had a dog park built, which is a field of patch grass enclosed by a gate, it's not too special. Expect to find roaches in your apartment as well. You can live as clean as possible and still manage to find a roach crawling around your apartment. Wish I could find something positive to say..

                                        Review Author Icon

                                        anonymous

                                        Resident 2013 - 2015

                                        2/6/2015

                                        If you're looking at these apartments because they are "reasonably priced", please be aware they will only be that way as long as you don't have any pets, or live here longer than a year. We started out at a price of $725 a month, which was great because we were first time renters at the time. However, after two cats and only two years of living here, it's gone up an extra $120 dollars or so to "keep up with maintenance"; Which is funny because we hardly call for maintenance, and when we have called for clogged drains, all they've ever done is plunge it and move on; a task which I could have and now do myself when it inevitably clogs up again. We're also rather ticked that although we have cats, we're included in the extra 80 dollars a month to have access to a dog park they're putting in soon. I'm aware that pet fees apply to all pets, but come on, that's ridiculous. If I wanted to pay close to $850 a month, I would have chosen a different apartment close by, that has more than just 509 sq ft. On a positive note, we've… See More>
                                          Review Author Icon

                                          dsmith0323

                                          Resident 2013 - 2015

                                          2/5/2015

                                          I'm going into my third year here and love living here. The location is great and the office and maintenance staff are awesome, always friendly and willing to help anyway they can.

                                            Manager

                                            4/7/2016

                                            Windsong
                                            I am so happy that we continue to meet your expectations, but now I want your help in identifying how we can exceed them! Your 4 star rating is so appreciated but tells me that we have room for improvement and I invite you to work with me to lead the team in doing it better. Please stop by the leasing center and chat with me or give me a call, I am very interested in getting your input on growing and improving our community!
                                            Review Author Icon

                                            ericwind

                                            Resident 2015

                                            8/3/2015

                                            Winsong is the greatest ! great place to stay , not to far from the beachhhhhh. Very nice people in the complex. The office staff is great, courteous, kind , respectful, and very professional in handling their tenents. Rosilyn is the greatest HANDS DOWN , the greatest

                                              Manager

                                              4/7/2016

                                              Windsong
                                              Thank you so much for taking the time to complete our survey and your candid feedback! I am in complete agreement, Rosilyn is the greatest and I am very lucky to have her on the team. Providing exceptional customer service is always the expectation for the Windsong team and anything less is not acceptable and requires attention. Please continue to be an active participant in our community and we look forward to your continued candor.
                                              Review Author Icon

                                              shambraW

                                              Resident 2014 - 2015

                                              1/21/2015

                                              The office staff is wonderful the new manager Larrie Jones has a great attitude along with his staff Rosilyn and Shannon. Today they made me feel like they really cared about me. I've lived a many places before, but the caring in that office is awesome.

                                                Review Author Icon

                                                anonymous

                                                Resident 2012 - 2014

                                                5/28/2014

                                                Oh my gracious. Never, never, never again. Cops are constantly called for domestic and public fights. During the summer drunks and drug addicts are stumbling around the property. Children are running wild, unattended, destroying private property. (Throwing dog feces on cars, graffiti, leaving trash everywhere, slamming doors and screaming at the top of their lungs) Maintainance is eager to fix small things such as lock jams and anything that involves a screwdriver. They stink, are over weight and unprofessional. I could never have company over because I was repeatedly embarrassed by the atmosphere. This is not a place for professionals. It is a place for --- backwards, trash talking, loud mouth, welfare recipient, trailer hitch living, beer drinking, wife beating, toothless southerners, no shoes wearing, wet diapered folk. No lie. Managment is ruthless and money chasing mongrels. Accidents have happened, blood has been spilled, sitting, rotting for over 3wks before anything was done. They've flipped apts left and right with shotty repairs. It's literally about the ratings for no empty apartments. I would NEVER recommend this place to families with children, anyone suffering from anxiety & stress or anyone wanting a safe community. Chicks beach has turned very bad. I've… See More>
                                                  Review Author Icon

                                                  anonymous

                                                  Resident 2013

                                                  9/11/2013

                                                  Terrible , I had clogged drains and no one came by to fix them after being told someone woul come by...so when I called to complain the property manager got an attitude and told me I wasnt aloud to have my dog even tho I already paid my fees..basically she was mad because I had a legitimate concern...so instead of getting my drains fixed she told me I was going to have to be charged an extra 25$ a month ...then still haven't got the problem fixed a month later...I'f you want constant problems and a rude unprofessional staff then windsong is your place...my advice is live in a box under a bridge...it's better living conditions and you won't be hassled by the staff because of your concerns

                                                    Floor Plans & Pricing

                                                    1 Bedroom

                                                    Marina

                                                    1 Bed, 1 Bath | 558 sq. ft.

                                                    $1,400

                                                    5 Available Units

                                                    See Floor Plan Details

                                                    Scallop

                                                    1 Bed, 1 Bath | 597 sq. ft.

                                                    $1,445 - $1,495

                                                    5 Available Units

                                                    See Floor Plan Details

                                                    Surf

                                                    1 Bed, 1 Bath | 597 sq. ft.

                                                    $1,445

                                                    5 Available Units

                                                    See Floor Plan Details

                                                    Disclaimer: Special, prices and availabilities subject to change.

                                                    epIQ Ratings

                                                    What is epIQ?

                                                    The epIQ Index gives you an accurate and authentic understanding of what life at a community is like prior to signing a lease, using a familiar letter grade & report card format.

                                                    epIQ Report Card

                                                    In partnership with SatisFacts™

                                                    Community epIQ Grade

                                                    A
                                                    A

                                                    Renter Ratings

                                                    A-

                                                    Review Ratings

                                                    Noise

                                                    4.0

                                                    Grounds

                                                    4.1

                                                    Safety

                                                    3.8

                                                    Office Staff

                                                    4.5

                                                    Maintenance

                                                    4.7

                                                    Neighborhood

                                                    4.5

                                                    Survey Ratings

                                                    SatisFacts™ Tour Survey

                                                    SatisFacts™ Move-In Survey

                                                    SatisFacts™ Maintenance Survey

                                                    SatisFacts™ Renewal Survey

                                                    Review Count

                                                    A

                                                    Number of reviews in the past 365 days

                                                    29

                                                    Manager’s Review Engagement

                                                    A

                                                    Percentage of reviews responded to

                                                    93.10%

                                                    Manager’s Review Reply Time

                                                    B

                                                    Average time to respond to reviews

                                                    15.45 days

                                                    View Community Timeline
                                                    View Community Timeline

                                                    Features & Amenities

                                                    Laundry
                                                    • In-Unit Washer and Dryers
                                                    • Laundry On-Site
                                                    • Upgraded HVAC
                                                    Parking
                                                    • Street Parking Available
                                                    Pets
                                                    • Cats Allowed
                                                      Pet Limit: 2
                                                      Less Info
                                                      More Info
                                                    • Pet Allowed
                                                      Pet Limit: 2
                                                      Less Info
                                                      More Info
                                                    • Dogs Allowed
                                                      Pet Limit: 2
                                                      Less Info
                                                      More Info
                                                    • Animal type not listed Allowed
                                                    Other
                                                    • 24-Hour Emergency Maintenance
                                                    • Air Conditioner
                                                    • Carpet
                                                    • Convenient to I-64 and Chesapeake Bay Bridge Tunnel
                                                    • Convenient to Military Bases in Norfolk Virginia Beach and Portsmouth
                                                    • Convenient to the Beach
                                                    • DishWasher
                                                    • Fully Equipped Kitchens
                                                    • Furnished and Corporate Leases Available
                                                    • Individual Climate Control
                                                    • Low Deposit Options
                                                    • On-Site Maintenance
                                                    • On-Site Management
                                                    • Online and Credit Card Payments Accepted
                                                    • Pets Allowed
                                                    • Refrigerator
                                                    • Resident Activities
                                                    • Short Term Lease Available
                                                    • Upgrades
                                                    • Walk In Closets in Master Bedrooms
                                                    • Water, Sewer, and Trash Included in Rent
                                                    Show Less
                                                    Show More

                                                    Leasing

                                                    Welcome to the future of Windsong Apartments! Be the first to experience our brand-new renovations that are guaranteed to leave you in awe and provide you with the ultimate living experience! The ocean breeze and sandy vistas are just a part of the experience when you live at Windsong. Living here, you can enjoy a spacious apartment, wonderful community, and a home walking distance from Chick s beach! When you aren t spending your days with your feet in the sand, you can take advantage of our various amenities like our swimming pool or grilling areas (coming soon!), or join the social events hosted by our community. Modern beachside living awaits you!
                                                    Show Less

                                                    Office Hours

                                                    • Sunday: Closed
                                                    • Monday: 09:00 AM - 06:00 PM
                                                    • Tuesday: 11:00 AM - 06:00 PM
                                                    • Wednesday - Friday: 09:00 AM - 06:00 PM
                                                    • Saturday: 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM

                                                    Questions & Answers (0)

                                                    Frequently Asked

                                                    Based on 274 number of votes by renters, Windsong is currently rated 4 out of 5 stars.
                                                    Windsong is rated 4.1/5 stars in our renters grounds survey, which is considered good. The grounds are generally well maintained and attractive.
                                                    Windsong is rated 4.7/5 stars in our renters maintenance survey, which is considered excellent. The maintenance team is very responsive and effective in addressing issues.
                                                    Windsong is rated 4/5 stars in our renters noise survey, which is considered good. The noise level is generally tolerable, with occasional disruptions.
                                                    Windsong is rated 3.8/5 stars in our renters safety survey, which is considered average. The complex has some safety concerns that need to be addressed.
                                                    Windsong is rated 4.5/5 stars in our renters neighborhood survey, which is considered excellent. The complex is located in a very desirable and safe neighborhood with convenient access to local attractions and services.
                                                    Windsong is rated 4.5/5 stars in our renters staff survey, which is considered excellent. The staff is extremely helpful and responsive to resident needs.
                                                    Managers have responded to 93.1034% of their community reviews in the past year.
                                                    Managers have replied within 15.45 days to their community reviews in the past year.
                                                    Cats Allowed
                                                    Pet Limit: 2
                                                    Pet Allowed
                                                    Pet Limit: 2
                                                    Dogs Allowed
                                                    Pet Limit: 2
                                                    Animal type not listed Allowed
                                                    1 Bed, 1 Bath
                                                    2 Beds, 1 Bath
                                                    2 Beds, 1.5 Baths
                                                    2 Beds, 2 Baths

                                                    Check Availability

                                                    Windsong

                                                    July 2024

                                                    Sun
                                                    Mon
                                                    Tue
                                                    Wed
                                                    Thu
                                                    Fri
                                                    Sat
                                                    1
                                                    2
                                                    3
                                                    4
                                                    5
                                                    6
                                                    7
                                                    8
                                                    9
                                                    10
                                                    11
                                                    12
                                                    13
                                                    14
                                                    15
                                                    16
                                                    17
                                                    18
                                                    19
                                                    20
                                                    21
                                                    22
                                                    23
                                                    24
                                                    25
                                                    26
                                                    27
                                                    28
                                                    29
                                                    30
                                                    31
                                                    Beds

                                                    0

                                                    Baths

                                                    0

                                                    Is this your community?

                                                    Claim your community to update listing information, capture leads, and respond to reviews!

                                                    Windsong is a 499 - 874 sq. ft. apartment in Virginia Beach in zip code 23455. This community has a 1 - 2 Beds, 1 - 2 Baths, and is for rent for $1,305 - $1,987. Nearby cities include Norfolk, Chesapeake, Portsmouth, Hampton, and Suffolk.

                                                    Your privacy and identity are important to us. Please review the Terms and Guidelines before sharing private or non-public information with matches.