B+

The Lux

433 West Johnson Street, Madison, WI 53703
433 West Johnson Street, Madison, WI 53703

Floor Plans

Contact Property

The Lux

433 West Johnson Street

Madison, WI 53703

 800-705-9934
 
 
 
 
 
 

epIQ Report Card

In partnership with SatisFacts™

Community epIQ Grade N/A

Ratings & Reviews (26 Reviews)

Filter
  • 5 out of 5
  • 4 out of 5
  • 3 out of 5
  • 2 out of 5
  • 1 out of 5
No reviews match your search.
AVERAGE RATING
See Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Grounds
Office Staff
The Lux Manager

How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Neighborhood
Grounds
Office Staff
Resident 2019 - 2020 Recommended

Updated 01/21/2020

Reviewed 01/21/2020

It has been great. The staff are phenomenal and are always actively involved in making this a welcoming and friendly community with activities and free raffles. The parking situation is the biggest opportunity which I know they are actively working on addressing.
The Lux Manager21/21/2020

Hello! Thank you for your review. We are happy that you are enjoying your home here at The Lux. We would love to hear of any community activities that you would be interested in us doing in the future! Feel free to reach out to us at [email protected] or at 608-237-6030. The Lux Team

How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Neighborhood
Grounds
Office Staff
Resident 2019 Not Recommended

Updated 03/23/2019

Reviewed 03/23/2019

Do not be fooled by the fake reviews posted my management and by all of the lies they will tell you when trying to convince you to sign a lease. They've changed managment three times since I've lived here and they all have been awful. As… See More
The Lux Manager09/09/2019

Hello, Thank you for your review. We do apologize that your experience with The Lux was not a great one! We are happy to say that we have a working pool that opened on May 4th, 2020. It has been a great success thus far. Both of our elevators are in working order now as well! We do apologize for the delay. We are excited for our brand new automated garage to open this summer, and do sincerely apologize for any delays that you may have encountered due to our old garage system. We are also excited about our new package system with door delivery. We would love to have you back as a resident in the future!

How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Neighborhood
Grounds
Office Staff
Verified Resident 613487 2018 - 2019 Not Recommended

Updated 03/09/2019

Reviewed 03/09/2019

While the property is beautiful (prior to the flooding), the management team is ineffective, at times rude, and not transparent. The management does not communicate with tenants as far as community changes and disclosures are concerned. When viewing the apartment I was lied to about the… See More
The Lux Manager09/09/2019

Hello, Thank you for your review. We are sad to hear that your experience was not a great one! We now have new management here at The Lux, and are more than happy to discuss any issues that you may have had. Please feel free to contact us at 608-237-6030!

How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Neighborhood
Grounds
Office Staff
Verified Resident 612756 2018 - 2019 Not Recommended

Updated 03/07/2019

Reviewed 03/07/2019

Do not live here. Parking garage system DOES NOT WORK!!! At its best, it was not uncommon to have to wait more than an hour for your car. Often I have to take Ubers/Lyfts to work because my vehicle is trapped in the garage due to… See More
The Lux Manager09/09/2019

Hello, Thank you for your review. We do apologize that your experience with The Lux was not a great one! We are happy to say that we now have new management who have been working diligently on repairs. We now have a working pool that opened on May 4th, 2020. It has been a great success thus far. Both of our elevators are in working order now as well! We do apologize for the delay. We are excited for our brand new automated garage to open this summer, and do sincerely apologize for any delays that you may have encountered due to our old garage system. We are also excited about our new package system with door delivery. We would love to have you back as a resident in the future!

How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Neighborhood
Grounds
Office Staff
Verified Resident 612742 2018 - 2019 Not Recommended

Updated 03/07/2019

Reviewed 03/07/2019

The staff is great, but the pool was never available, the parking garage was almost always in a state of being broken, and the garage (when working) would take upwards of an hour to deliver your car. Apartments are too expensive for the living environment
The Lux Manager09/09/2019

Hello, Thank you for your review. We do apologize that your experience with The Lux was not a great one! We are excited for our brand new automated garage to open this summer, and do sincerely apologize for any delays that you may have encountered due to our old garage system. We would love to have you back as a resident in the future!

How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Neighborhood
Grounds
Office Staff
Resident 2017 - 2019 Not Recommended

Updated 02/23/2019

Reviewed 02/23/2019

My son was accidentally trapped in the automated parking. He called the Lux emergency number and ... no answer! Luckily after about a half hour a maintenance man found him and helped him get out. The Lux recently told tenants the had to find there own… See More
The Lux Manager09/09/2019

Hello, Thank you for your review. We do apologize that your son's experience with The Lux was not a great one! We are now running with a brand new management team and are excited for our brand new automated garage to open this summer. We sincerely apologize for any delays or issues that he may have encountered due to our old garage system. We would love to have your son back as a resident in the future!

How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Neighborhood
Grounds
Office Staff
Verified Resident 598531 2018 - 2019 Not Recommended

Updated 01/31/2019

Reviewed 01/31/2019

Our heat doesnt work, we dont have a pool, the garage is always broken. Property manager ignores people, emails and phone calls. There is always a problem with our housing situation and we were promised better living here and signed based off the contingencies we were… See More
The Lux Manager31/31/2019

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate all insight offered by our residents and we apologize for any unhappiness you have felt. The repairs to the garage and rooftop are ongoing - this is a top priority for us. For your heat, we can help you once a work order is submitted - please contact the office or use your resident portal for this. We would be happy to speak with you in more detail if you come by the office. Thank you again.

How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Neighborhood
Grounds
Office Staff
Verified Resident 596181 2018 - 2019 Not Recommended

Updated 01/23/2019

Reviewed 01/23/2019

Awful from start to finish (which I??™m still waiting for even tough the ONLY leads I signed ended in Aug of 2018. In Oct I received payment requests/ a move out doc for a lease I never signed. In Nov I got a request for payment… See More
The Lux Manager25/25/2019

Thank you for your review and we apologize for your experience. Your time living with us is important and we strive to provide the best customer service possible. We would be happy to discuss further and provide additional information if you would like to visit us in the office or give us a call at (608) 237-6030. Thank you again.

How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Neighborhood
Grounds
Office Staff
Resident 2018 Not Recommended

Updated 12/05/2018

Reviewed 12/05/2018

The building is an awful place to live. Here are some highlights of what you can expect if you decide to move in: 1. A broken pool: The pool has not worked in almost a year. They will tell you that it's being fixed but they've… See More
The Lux Manager06/06/2018

Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear you have not been satisfied with your living situation. The rooftop and parking garage have unfortunately experienced a number of maintenance issues and we are actively working on repairs daily, as we have done throughout the year. In order to protect the building structure and residents' belongings, we had to keep the pool closed for the season. We would be happy to address your concerns in more depth - please stop by the office during business hours or give us a call at 608-237-6030. Thank you again.

How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Neighborhood
Grounds
Office Staff
Resident 2016 - 2018 Not Recommended

Updated 09/16/2018

Reviewed 05/20/2018

The pools been down all summer. It was open for laterally 3 days. We had flooding in our room two weeks ago. No one has check on it or checked in with us. The grass outside is either weeds up to your knees or dirt. The… See More
The Lux Manager05/05/2018

Thank you very much for your review, we are glad you are happy with the changes and we are excited to continue to introduce additional improvements to the building. Please do not hesitate to give us a call or stop by the office with any additional questions, comments or concerns - thank you again!

How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Neighborhood
Grounds
Office Staff
Resident 2016 - 2018 Not Recommended

Updated 07/05/2018

Reviewed 07/05/2018

I love my apartment but this is pretty much it after the new management took place. The Lux is literally falling apart everywhere, both its structure and its appearance. First, the building is absolutely dirty! I excused new management after they took place the first month… See More
The Lux Manager05/05/2018

Hello, thank you for your review - we appreciate all resident comments and concerns. We are sorry to hear that you are disappointed. We are actively working to make improvements and we are doing our best maintain the upkeep of the building. We have a landscaping contract scheduled for a complete overhaul of the front area and we are hiring additional maintenance staff to help with the interior and trash rooms. The parking garage is an ongoing process and the repairs are not immediate. When something breaks, we must shut down the garage for extended periods of time in order to safely complete the repairs. We would be happy to discuss further with you if you would like to make an appointment. Again, we apologize for any negative experience you have had and we are working to continue improvements.

How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Neighborhood
Grounds
Office Staff
Resident 2018 Not Recommended

Updated 07/04/2018

Reviewed 07/04/2018

We love our actual apartment, but beyond the walls of our home, this building is a mess. I understand the new owners were given a rough building, but it's worse than when we moved in a year ago. Half of the staff will ignore you, not… See More
The Lux Manager05/05/2018

Hello, Thank you for your review, we appreciate all resident comments and concerns. We are sorry to hear that you are unhappy with your current living situation. We take any issues brought up seriously and we are actively working to fix any and concerns. In regards to the theater room, we became aware of issues with the projector almost immediately - we have since then replaced the projector and are scheduling for the internet/cable company to come out and fix the connection so that is it more reliable. Regarding the pool - there was a leak discovered that is not a quick fix; it is currently leaking into another resident's apartment as well as the 11th floor hallway; this is a top priority for us. If you'd like to make an appointment with management to discuss your other concerns further, please feel free to reach out so we can give you additional information and insight. Thank you again.

How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Neighborhood
Grounds
Office Staff
Resident 2018 Not Recommended

Updated 06/20/2018

Reviewed 06/20/2018

In conclusion: Do NOT Live there! The parking system is so stupid. It fails ALL the time. And the staffs, especially the maintenance leader is very rude and unfriendly. Plus you will never get your requested maintenance. Do NOT live there. Don't make the mistake. Living… See More
The Lux Manager20/20/2018

Thank you for your review, we are sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced. We appreciate all feedback and work diligently to continue to improve the parking system. Any time the garage is being worked on or will be down temporarily, we inform all residents ahead of time in writing. We would be happy to discuss with you further if you would like to come to the office. Again, we do apologize for any inconvenience and please feel free to come into the office to discuss further.

How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Neighborhood
Grounds
Office Staff
Verified Resident 480187 2017 - 2018 Recommended

Updated 04/25/2018

Reviewed 04/25/2018

I had a great time. It was sold and some things changed. But then I left. Dnsjssjsjshsjsjsjshshshsjsjsjsjsjsjsjsjsjsjsjjsjsjsjssjjsjs See More
The Lux Manager29/29/2018

Thank you for your review! We are sad to see you leave but all reviews are greatly appreciated as we work to best The Lux into the best place to live in Madison.

How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Neighborhood
Grounds
Office Staff
Verified Resident 476466 2017 - 2018 Recommended

Updated 04/15/2018

Reviewed 04/15/2018

I moved to this apt 2017 spring. I was transfer student from Texas. I really like this apt, it??™s very luxury and clean. Also staffs are kind and everytime when I have problem they help very fast and helpful. I like the gym a lot too,… See More
The Lux Manager20/20/2018

Thank you for your recommendation and review of The Lux Apartments. We hope you enjoy your time as a resident. Please do not hesitate to contact the office for anything you may need.

How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Neighborhood
Grounds
Office Staff
Verified Resident 476451 2017 - 2018 Not Recommended

Updated 04/15/2018

Reviewed 04/15/2018

The insulation within the building is terrible. I had my heat on at 80F and could not get my apartment to warmer than 60F. My heating bill was also well $200 dollars for one month. The parking garage is constantly responsible for delays to work. I… See More
The Lux Manager20/20/2018

We're sorry to hear this feedback. We want everyone to be happy and comfortable in their homes, so please give us a call so we can discuss your situation directly and make things right. We look forward to hearing from you soon.

How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Neighborhood
Grounds
Office Staff
Verified Resident 476245 2017 - 2018 Recommended

Updated 04/14/2018

Reviewed 04/14/2018

The room is very spacious and located in a great, centralized locations. The amenities are incredibly nice, including the rooftop pool. The cabinet space could be better, namely in the bathroom, but are adequate. The parking garage is a great convenience to have, but is prone… See More
The Lux Manager20/20/2018

Thanks very much for taking the time to review us We work hard to provide a comfortable, happy home to our residents and we're glad that you appreciate our efforts. As always, please let us know if you need anything.

How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Neighborhood
Grounds
Office Staff
Verified Resident 473388 2017 - 2018 Recommended

Updated 04/07/2018

Reviewed 04/07/2018

Overall, I had a very positive experience at the Lux. I had good views on the 9th floor and lots of natural light. I loved having a ceiling fan in my room, and my own individual thermostat. The large kitchen and pantry was a highlight of… See More
The Lux Manager20/20/2018

Thanks very much for taking the time to review us! We work hard to provide a comfortable, happy home to our residents and we're glad that you appreciate our efforts. As always, please let us know if you need anything.

How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Neighborhood
Grounds
Office Staff
Verified Resident 473382 2017 - 2018 Recommended

Updated 04/07/2018

Reviewed 04/07/2018

New management is 1000000x better! Great place to live. If you use your car many times a day I wouldn't recommend parking here as the electronic parking system can be slow. I live in a one bedroom apartment that gets awesome natural light and has a… See More
The Lux Manager20/20/2018

Thank you for your 5 star review of The Lux. We hope you enjoy your time as a resident. Please do not hesitate to contact the office for anything you may need to help your stay with us continue to be 5 stars

How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Neighborhood
Grounds
Office Staff
Verified Resident 472675 2017 - 2018 Recommended

Updated 04/05/2018

Reviewed 04/05/2018

The property is great and has a lot ot offer. The gym is convenient and I never have to wait to use machines. The pool is clean and has great views. Everything is new and looks very nice. The staff is very kind and helpful.
The Lux Manager05/05/2018

Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you are pleased with the building, location, and staff. Please do not hesitate to speak with us in the office at any time. Thank you again! The Lux Management

How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Neighborhood
Grounds
Office Staff
Verified Resident 472660 2016 - 2018 Not Recommended

Updated 04/05/2018

Reviewed 04/05/2018

The units are fine, pretty standard. The parking system is ridiculous - I would not recommend anyone sign a lease here if they need to use the parking system. The building often has a trash issue - several times a month the trash chute is completely… See More
The Lux Manager05/05/2018

Thank you for your review. In the recent management change for The Lux, two of the factors you mentions are a priority for us - the parking garage and the trash room. The parking garage is a unique system that we are dedicated to improving. In just the past week, we have installed a large number of new parts to the garage, as well as offering detailed training to the residents, in an effort to provide the best service to our residents. Additionally, we are working with the trash collection company to improve functionality. Specifically, we are obtaining larger trash/recycling bins to accommodate overflow and also widening the trash room doors to increase flow for the bins. We are available for further discussion in the office should you have additional questions or concerns. As the new management, we are eager to please our residents and we strive to offer the best living atmosphere possible. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to continuing to improve your experience. The Lux Management

How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Neighborhood
Grounds
Office Staff
Verified Resident 472651 2017 - 2018 Recommended

Updated 04/05/2018

Reviewed 04/05/2018

I love the location of the apartment, and the new management is great. The furnishings are nice and modern. I love that it has a lot of natural light, and the residents seems generally friendly. I signed a contract for a second year because I like… See More
The Lux Manager05/05/2018

Thank you for your response! I wanted to let you know that animals are allowed moving forward. While in the process of updating our website, there was an error with the pet policy but we do allow cats, dogs, and smaller caged animals. Thank you again! The Lux Management

How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Neighborhood
Grounds
Office Staff
Verified Resident 472642 2016 - 2018 Not Recommended

Updated 04/05/2018

Reviewed 04/05/2018

Absolutely horrible DO NOT MOVE HERE. Horrible parking system, too expensive and have to wait up to an hour for my car or there have been multiple times I haven??™t even be able to get my car out all day. The staff isn??™t in the office… See More
The Lux Manager05/05/2018

Thank you for your review. In the recent management change for The Lux, two of the factors you mentions are a priority for us - staffing and the parking garage. The new staff is fully dedicated to providing the best living environment possible. We are also in the process of hiring additional staff in order to increase the staff presence for our residents. The parking garage is a unique system that we are dedicated to improving. In just the past week, we have installed a large number of new parts to the garage, as well as offering detailed training to the residents, in an effort to provide the best service to our residents. We are available for further discussion in the office should you have additional questions or concerns. As the new management, we are eager to please our residents and we strive to offer the best living atmosphere possible. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to continuing to improve your experience. The Lux Management

How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Neighborhood
Grounds
Office Staff
Verified Resident 472612 2017 - 2018 Recommended

Updated 04/05/2018

Reviewed 04/05/2018

If you are looking to be in the heart of downtown life the Lux is a good place to live. It is very close to campus and state street but can get loud when events are going on downtown. The finishes and amenities of the property… See More
The Lux Manager05/05/2018

Thank you for your review, we appreciate it! If you have any questions, comments or concerns with your experience as a resident, please do not hesitate to come speak with us in the office. Thank you again! The Lux Management

How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report
OVERALL SCORE
See Rating Breakdown
Noise
Maintenance
Safety
Neighborhood
Grounds
Office Staff
Verified Resident 472593 2017 - 2018 Not Recommended

Updated 04/05/2018

Reviewed 04/05/2018

Very poorly managed. I will only be here a year and that is too long. The parking garage frequently breaks down and it is impossible to retrieve your vehicle. They contract with cleaning the facility only three days a week and this is insufficiently gross for… See More
The Lux Manager05/05/2018

Thank you for your review. With the recent change in management, we are striving to make necessary and needed improvements to the parking system. It is a very unique system and needs to be treated with care. As such, we have installed a large number of new parts in the garage in just the past week, already showing improvement; we also have a second round of mechanical improvements on the way in order to further increase the garage experience. The new staff is fully dedicated to providing the best living environment possible. We are also in the process of hiring additional staff in order to increase the staff presence for our residents. We have increased the cleaning to 5 days a week, with a 6th day as required. We are here for our residents so please do not hesitate to come speak with us in the office with any questions, comments, or concerns. As new management, we are excited to improve our residents' living experience and we are eager to help. Thank you again for your review. The Lux Management

How was this review?
Useful
Thanks for voting!
Report

Features & Amenities

Laundry

  • In-Unit Washer/Dryer

Parking

  • Underground Heated Parking

General

  • Elevator
  • Fitness Center
  • High-Speed Internet
  • Library
  • On-Site Maintenance
  • On-Site Management
  • Pool
  • Sundeck

Floor Plans & Pricing

Studio, 1 Bathroom

  • Price

    $1,348

  • SQ. FT.

    N/A

  • Available
    Avail.

    N/A

  • Model

    Studio

1 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom

  • Price

    $1,499

  • SQ. FT.

    N/A

  • Available
    Avail.

    N/A

  • Model

    1 Bedroom

Disclaimer: Floor Plans data have been collected from Internet users and may not be a reliable indicator of current or comprehensive floor plans offered.

Leasing:

C+
University Communities
VIEW 26 COMMUNITIES

The Lux has all the high-end features and amenities you deserve in a location that simply can't be beat. Live within walking distance to all of downtown Madison, including the Capitol Square, State Street, Kohl Center and Overture Center. Students are right near the University of Wisconsin-Madison, only about a mile away. With community amenities like our swimming pool, movie theater and Skydeck, you can unwind and relax with friends at home. Enjoy the comfort of our lounge and study space, featuring a snack and juice bar.

Questions & Answers (1)

Your question has been submitted!

Please allow up to 24 hours for your answer to be visible to the public.

·
Type your answer:
Please allow up to 24 hours for your answer to be visible to the public.

How easy is it to find guest parking?

Anonymous · March, 19 2018 · 2 answers
Please allow up to 24 hours for your answer to be visible to the public.
· Just Now
Hi! Unfortunately, we do not have guest parking available at this time. However there is metered street parking and ramps all over town. As well as free street parking just a few blocks from The Lux!
Manager Response · June, 20 2018

Similar Properties

Image of Domain in Madison, WI

Domain

Madison, WI

Image of 22Slate in Madison, WI

22Slate

Madison, WI

The Lux is an apartment in Madison in zip code 53703. This community has a Studio - 1 bedroom, 1 bathroom, and is for rent for $1,348 - $1,499. Nearby cities include Fitchburg, Monona, Middleton, McFarland, and Verona. 53715, 57311, 53726, 53716, and 53713 are nearby zip codes.

  • Price

  • Sq. Ft.

  • Availability

  • Model

The Lux

Provided by Property Management

Management Photos (0)

    Provided by Other Residents

    Resident Photos (0)

        Back To Top
      (800) 705-9934
      Contact Property