The Brownstone Apartments on Old Sauk

The Brownstone Apartments on Old Sauk

(22 Reviews)
8502 Old Sauk Road, Middleton, WI 53562
$1,075 - $1,840/mo

Floor Plans & Pricing

Studio

Studio 1 Bath

Studio, 1 Bath | 609 - 836 sq. ft.

$1,075 - $1,295

1 Available Unit

1 Bedroom

1 Bed 1 Bath

1 Bed, 1 Bath | 770 - 1,018 sq. ft.

$1,270 - $1,430

5 Available Units

Lofted 1 Bed 2 Bath

1 Bed, 2 Baths | 1,218 sq. ft.

$1,610

Not Available

2 Bedrooms

2 Bed 2 Bath

2 Beds, 2 Baths | 1,011 - 1,390 sq. ft.

$1,680 - $1,840

1 Available Unit

Lofted 2 Bed 2 Bath

2 Beds, 2 Baths | 995 - 1,233 sq. ft.

$1,530 - $1,630

Not Available

Disclaimer: Special, prices and availabilities subject to change.

Ratings & Reviews

epIQ Report Card

In partnership with SatisFacts™

Community epIQ Grade

D+
D+

Renter Ratings

C-

Noise

2.0

Grounds

1.0

Safety

4.0

Office Staff

1.0

Maintenance

1.0

Neighborhood

4.0

SatisFacts™ Tour Survey

SatisFacts™ Move-In Survey

SatisFacts™ Maintenance Survey

SatisFacts™ Renewal Survey

Review Count

B

Number of reviews in the past 365 days

1

Manager’s Review Engagement

F

Percentage of reviews responded to

0%

Manager’s Review Reply Time

F

Average time to respond to reviews

N/A

Verified Residents
Reviews with the Verified Badge are from residents surveyed directly from the community, ensuring reviews are from real residents!

Reviews

(22)

Sort:

  • Newest Activity
  • Recently Lived In
  • Review Rating
  • Original Date
Avatar

anonymous

Resident 2020

12/30/2020

Third time this year the faulty fire system wakes us all up. It's 6 am this time which isn't as bad I guess. We'll probably get another email that says everything's working fine, it's probably a pipe issue due to all the snow. They won'tSee More >
Avatar

anonymous

Resident 2017 - 2019

8/4/2019

The management company here is completely unresponsive and incompetent. A list of the issues that they have failed to communicate anything about/ permanently fix are as follows: 1. On three occasions the garage door has broken, trapping residents' cars in the underground parking area. NoSee More >
Avatar

anonymous

Resident 2019

1/24/2019

My family and I could not be happier with the Brownstone on Old Sauk! The staff, including Lavondra, Jackie, and Allie are attentive and caring. They make every effort to ensure that our rental living experience is exceptional! Even during the recent heavy snowstorm, SBASee More >
Manager

1/25/2019

The Brownstone Apartments on Old Sauk
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback about your experience at the Brownstone!
Avatar

anonymous

prospectiveVisited 2018

10/30/2018

We submitted an application last week, and the next day after you ran our credit we received an email saying that everything looks great, asking to confirm the current property manager for reference. When we checked the application status online, it said APPROVED (it stillSee More >
Manager

10/30/2018

The Brownstone Apartments on Old Sauk
HI there, our management team is reaching out today to try to make the best of a situation gone bad. I apologize for the data error on our part - the team clicked the Approved button in the back end of our system when it should not have been clicked. Our application criteria does not include an exact credit score because we consider each application from multiple perspectives: background check, credit score, credit history, and rental history. The credit score is considered on a sliding scale based on how it balances with the other factors. Regardless, you're right: This was not handled in the best manner possible and we'll be working with you today to make this right.
Avatar

anonymous

Resident 2018

9/28/2018

We moved into Brownstone 2 weeks ago and love it. Olivia Groth was our leasing agent and she was on top of getting our info pulled together with our application and move-in date. Ali Duquaine has been extremely helpful with scheduling and following up withSee More >
Avatar

blizz1990

Resident 2016 - 2018

4/20/2018

I cannot think of a better place to live in Madison. Brownstone is a perfect for someone who is looking for a quiet and incredibly well-kept place to call home, and everything you might need is just a short walk away. I cannot also extendSee More >
Avatar

nsikand

Resident 2014 - 2017

7/25/2017

I lived here for three years. Amazing property & amenities. Includes garage heated parking and a trash pick up service! Fitness center & club room were fantastic. The apartments are very large, including in unit washer & dryer as well as new stainless steel appliances. ShannonSee More >
Avatar

anonymous

Resident 2013 - 2017

5/31/2017

We have lived here for a few years now, and absolutely love it. Beautiful apartments and a wonderful staff. One particular experience regarding a maintenance request prompted this review. Bob, one of the maintenance technicians, stopped by to help with our maintenance request regarding our microwave,See More >
Avatar

anonymous

Resident 2016 - 2017

2/3/2017

*BEWARE* There is a known issue with the building's fire detection/suppression system in the common areas. This issue is *NOT* related to the quarterly fire alarm tests. It is due to the improper and/or obsolete installed smoke detectors. This has been brought to management's attention severalSee More >
Manager

2/3/2017

The Brownstone Apartments on Old Sauk
Hello, To be clear, as I indicated yesterday in my response to your other review, there is not an ongoing safety issue at The Brownstone. Hopefully this additional information will help alleviate your stress: We contract with Tyco SimplexGrinell to handle our fire alarm testing and with Monona Plumbing for the building wide sprinkler system tests. Both systems are tested by Monona Plumbing's certified personnel on a quarterly basis (this is when the alarms go off). Additionally there are annual state checks on the fire detection/suppression system, and monthly checks by the Middleton Fire Department. It simply isn't an option to not pass these tests. Further, the two examples you cite indicate that the alarm system is working as intended - a problem occurred and the alarm was activated. I'm fairly certain our management team has talked to you about these issues multiple times. Our door remains open if you have further questions or concerns. Thank you, Jenny
Avatar

msn_dvlp

Resident 2015 - 2017

2/1/2017

Get ready to call the gas company every few days if you live here! There is a stairwell above the maintenance room that frequently fills with gas. The staff blames it on a mysterious resident, but I think there is actually something wrong withSee More >
Manager

2/2/2017

The Brownstone Apartments on Old Sauk
Hi msn_dvlp, I'm sorry your experience at The Brownstone on Old Sauk has turned into a negative one. It's disheartening to hear you classify the Brownstone a "slum" and that you think that we've stopped caring about the building. This is not the case. The Brownstone is one of our flagship properties and our intentions are to maintain its Class A+ rating for the long-term. I want to assure you that the gas and water issues you referenced were isolated ones - there are no systemic or ongoing gas or water issues. In the last 6 weeks, there has been a leaking gas valve that was caused by a resident cleaning behind their stove, a resident who accidentally left a gas burner open and unlit, and water in the garage due to a leaking tub on the first floor. The close timing is unfortunate, but the problems themselves are routine for property management. The garage entrance is a product of poor engineering. We try to manage it best we can, but without an easement on the neighboring property it's next to impossible to change the grade of the driveway. There are a few ongoing problems that we continue to improve as best we can, as you've highlighted here. We do perform quarterly building-wide fire alarm tests. Sorry, we know it's a hassle but it's a requirement. You should be getting a posting re. the tests in advance; let me know if you're not. And, lastly the "odd guy" is on our radar (action is being taken), and we haven't changed the appliance quality spec for the building. Did something happen in your apartment to cause this concern? Thank you for your feedback and letting us know what you're experiencing. If there's anything we can do to alleviate your frustration I can be reached at [email protected] Sincerely, Jenny Oppriecht Marketing Director
Avatar

ee17

Resident 2013 - 2014

3/3/2014

I have lived here for almost a year and could not be happier. This apartment is one of the nicest places I have ever lived. The hardwood floors are so beautiful. The staff is very courteous and offer superlative service. See More >
Avatar

Pkitty1

Resident 2011 - 2013

8/5/2013

My wife and I currently live in the Brownstone on Old Sauk. We have been here for over two years. First the good: the place is well kept. The office has always been very responsive to maintenance requests and takes care of stuff in shortSee More >
Avatar

anonymous

Resident 2011 - 2012

8/11/2012

Don't rent at this place!!!!!! It's way over priced and the office staff every one of them are awful people to work with!!! Save your money and rent elsewhere!!!!!See More >
Avatar

CornerUnitLove

Resident 2012

8/11/2012

Before I begin, I would like anyone considering this apartment to not only look at the previous comments, but notice the dates. While I'm sure some of those things are true, they are outdated opinions. I am currently living in the Brownstone (this is my fourthSee More >
Avatar

anonymous

Resident 2011 - 2012

3/28/2012

I have been living in Brownstone apartments for the past 16 months, and when I initially started living here, the building was clean, we had complementary breakfast every morning, and management made many promises that would happen in the coming weeks, none of which happened. NotSee More >
Avatar

anonymous

Resident 2011

9/6/2011

I have been living here a short time and I should of listened to previous comments about management! They are very rude and don't make you feel welcome at all!!!! The apartment is beautiful but definitely NOT worth the amount they charge!!! And I couldn'tSee More >
Avatar

anonymous

Resident 2008 - 2011

9/4/2011

I've been living here for a while and the parking garage stays filthy (not dirty mind you) with dirt 10 months out of the year. They clean it once a year and tell the residents to live with it. Management has no regard for theSee More >
Avatar

anonymous

Resident 2008

8/4/2011

I rented with Brownstone apartments about two years ago. The maintenance/housekeeping staff were very nice people. The interior of the apartments are very tastful modern look. I enjoyed my stay overall but the one problem that I could not get past was the quality ofSee More >
Avatar

anonymous

Resident 2008 - 2009

1/31/2009

I had high expectations for this apartment prior to moving in, but have been severely disappointed. My biggest complaint is the noise level. I can regularly hear full conversations of my neighbors, and can even hear my neighbor snoring at night. I think this isSee More >
Avatar

anonymous

Resident 2007 - 2008

10/17/2008

When my husband & I moved into the Brownstone, we were thrilled with it. The building was quiet and clean, our apartment was gorgeous. But then things started to change. Rent went up (and it was already pretty pricey), but it seemedSee More >
Avatar

anonymous

Resident 2008

9/13/2008

My husband and I have lived at the Brownstone's now for 3 months and have had a great experience thus far. The management did undergo a change right when we were moving, so we have nothing to compare the new manager to. While the officeSee More >
Avatar

midwestman79

Resident 2007 - 2008

4/6/2008

The old manager was great! He would do anything to help you out. Now the rent has gone up, the grounds look terrible, and in general they don't care about you (they just want your $$$). Don't try to walk on the grass there isSee More >

Features & Amenities

Laundry
  • Washer/Dryer
Parking
  • Guest Parking
  • Parking
Pets
  • Cats Allowed
    Restrictions: All pets must be spayed and neutered.. Pet Limit: 2. Comments: Cat
    Less Info
    More Info
Other
  • 24-Hour Emergency Maintenance
  • Above Range Microwave
  • Balcony
  • Built in breakfast bars
  • Cable & Satellite
  • Carpet
  • Central Heat and Air
  • Cherry Cabinetry with Stainless Hardware
  • Clubhouse
  • Community Events
  • Controlled Access
  • Corporate and Furnished Available
  • Courtyard
  • Dishwasher
  • Disposal
  • Environmentally Friendly Programmable Thermostats
  • Fire Sprinkler System
  • Fireplace
  • Fitness Center
  • Gas Range
  • Hardwood Flooring
  • High-Speed Internet
  • Kohler Faucets
  • Large Closets
  • Premium Hallways
  • Public Transportation
  • Refrigerator
  • Stainless Steel Appliances
  • Stand Alone Bathroom Vanities or In-bathroom Tower Storage and Premium Vanity Mirror
  • Storage Space
  • Taupe Walls with Thick White Trim and Six Paneled Doors
  • Trash and Recycling Center
  • Valet Trash Service
  • Vaulted Ceilings
  • Wheelchair Access Available
  • Window Coverings
Show Less
Show More

Leasing

A Steve & Laurel Brown Signature Residence: The Brownstone on Old Sauk is unlike other luxury apartments in Madison, Wisconsin. The apartments been designed to provide you with a living experience that is comparable to being in a luxury condominium home. This beautiful property achieves luxury by paying attention to the details and by providing you with prompt, courteous service. Each of the sixty studio, one- and two-bedroom apartments includes in-unit laundry, hardwood floors, stand-alone bathroom vanities, Kohler faucets, and stainless steel appliances, including a range-hood microwave and dishwasher. The property offers a quality living experience in a beautifully designed space.

Office Hours

  • Sunday: Closed
  • Monday - Thursday: 08:30 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Friday: 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Saturday: Closed
This community is managed by

Steve Brown Apartments

C
C
Communities
8

Questions & Answers (0)

Frequently Asked

What are noise levels like at The Brownstone Apartments on Old Sauk?
The community is rated 2/5 stars, which is considered having loud noise levels on average.
How satisfied are residents with the upkeep and overall appearance of the grounds at The Brownstone Apartments on Old Sauk?
The community is rated 1/5 stars, signifying no satisfaction on average.
How safe is The Brownstone Apartments on Old Sauk?
The community is rated 4/5 stars, which is considered being very safe on average.
How satisfied are residents with the neighborhood
The community is rated 4/5 stars, signifying much satisfaction on average.
How effective was the maintenance team when resolving your problem?
The community is rated 1/5 stars, which is considered being not very effective on average.
Who manages The Brownstone Apartments on Old Sauk?
Steve Brown Apartments
What is the pet policy at The Brownstone Apartments on Old Sauk?
Cats Allowed
Restrictions: All pets must be spayed and neutered.
Pet Limit: 2
Comments: Cat
What types of floor plans are available?
1 Bed, 1 Bath
1 Bed, 2 Baths
2 Beds, 2 Baths
Studio, 1 Bath

Contact Property

The Brownstone Apartments on Old Sauk

August 2021

Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
Beds

0

Baths

0

The Brownstone Apartments on Old Sauk is a 609 - 1,390 sq. ft. apartment in Middleton in zip code 53562. This community has a 1 - 2 Beds, 1 - 2 Baths, and is for rent for $1,075 - $1,840. Nearby cities include Verona, Fitchburg, Waunakee, Cross Plains, and Monona. 53717, 53562, 53705, 53726, and 57311 are nearby zips.